BPL 2015-16 December 1, 2015

Soumya, bowlers hand Chittagong a thrashing

Rangpur Riders 113 for 1 (Soumya 58*, Jahurul 47) beat Chittagong Vikings 111 for 8 (Tamim 36, Shakib 2-16) by nine wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Soumya Sarkar's unbeaten 58 helped Rangpur Riders cruise to victory © BCB

Rangpur Riders hardly put a step wrong in their nine-wicket thrashing of Chittagong Vikings, as the openers Soumya Sarkar and Jahurul Islam completed the demolition job that was initiated by the spinners, who used the change of pace to great effect.

Rangpur's fourth victory of the season lifted them to pole position in the table, while Chittagong are now rock bottom, with five defeats out of six.

Shakib Al Hasan, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Nabi and Saqlain Sajib combined to take six of the eight Chittagong wickets, giving away 71 runs in 13 overs, as Chittagong let a good start with the bat go to waste by collapsing at a crucial stage of the innings.

Tamim Iqbal and Tillakaratne Dilshan added 39 for the first wicket, giving the home fans something to cheer about, but Sunny struck in the seventh over to remove Dilshan for 18. Kamran Akmal, reeling from a golden duck in his first game, started off with a six and a four, but fell in the same over to Sunny, trying to cut a delivery on middle-stump. Tamim tried to resurrect the innings, but Anamul Haque's wicket in the 13th over sparked a collapse.

Tamim was gone for 36 off 43 balls before Umar Akmal, who arrived at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium on a helicopter from Dhaka, lasted eight balls for his one run. The quick dismissals of Ziaur Rahman and Mohammad Amir meant there was no end-over flourish, as Chittagong were restricted to 111 for 8.

Soumya and Jahurul then added the first 100-plus opening stand of the season. Soumya was severe on anything that strayed in line towards leg or gave him room to swing his arms. He even brought out the reverse sweep in the fifth over, off Dilshan, and beautifully struck a slog-sweep for six off left-arm spinner Asif Hasan in a tenth over that yielded 11 runs.

Soumya was unbeaten on 58 off 56 balls with eight fours and a six, easily beating his previous highest score of the season, which was 20. Jahurul also got to his highest score of 47 off 44 balls with four fours and a six; he had made 7, 8 and 4 in the last three innings.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84