Sri Lanka in Bangladesh 2013-14 February 15, 2014

Mushfiqur returns for SL ODIs, Arafat Sunny picked

Mushfiqur Rahim will captain the Bangladesh team in the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka after missing the two Twenty20s due to a finger injury. The other major change in the 15-member squad is the inclusion of Arafat Sunny as replacement for another left-arm spinner, the injured Abdur Razzak.

Razzak, the leading wicket-taker for Bangladesh in ODIs, injured his left hamstring during the first innings of the second Test against Sri Lanka in Chittagong two weeks ago, and still needs time to recover.

Sunny made his T20 debut for Bangladesh in the first game against Sri Lanka in Chittagong, and picked up three wickets. He was the most successful spinner in last season's Dhaka Premier Division, the country's List-A competition, with 29 wickets at an average of 19.13. The onus of filling the void in the spin attack in the series will also rest on Shakib Al Hasan and Sohag Gazi.

Anamul Haque, Naeem Islam and Shafiul Islam have also retained their places in the team despite not being a part of Test plans. Anamul batted well in the first T20 while Naeem has been in good touch in domestic cricket, and had made two fifties in the ODIs against New Zealand last year.

Shafiul Islam has recovered from a ligament tear in his ankle which he picked up ahead of the first ODI against New Zealand in October. He has replaced Ziaur Rahman, who has fallen out of favour with the selectors across all three formats.

Interestingly, the BCB has named Tamim Iqbal vice-captain for the ODIs, after he had quit the role ahead of the T20s last week.

Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal (vice-captain), Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Arafat Sunny, Mashrafe Mortaza, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain, Naeem Islam, Shafiul Islam.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here