Bangladesh v West Indies, Twenty20, Mirpur December 9, 2012

A chance to upset the champions

Match facts

December 10, 2012
Start time 1800 local (1200 GMT)

Big Picture

Had West Indies beaten Bangladesh as they were expected to in the ODIs, the one-off Twenty20 international would have been more of an exhibition. Now, because Bangladesh won the one-dayers 3-2, the fixture will have added significance for the visitors. Their captain Darren Sammy said the T20 was West Indies' chance to finish this tour on a high.

Bangladesh will also want to end the year on a positive note. The ODI series triumph will have given them confidence, but they face a difficult task because they have struggled in the shortest format. And West Indies are the world champions in T20 cricket. Bangladesh had prepared extensively ahead of the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, playing tournaments in several countries between June and September just to get a hang of the game

West Indies will be favourites once again, but they were favourites to win the ODIs too. They won't take Bangladesh lightly.

Form guide

Bangladesh: LLLWL (Most recent first)

West Indies: WWWLW

Watch out for

Kieron Pollard, after his 74-ball knock of 85 in the final ODI. The innings included eight sixes, and some of them were mishits that landed well beyond the rope.

Ziaur Rahman, who is regarded as the only specialist big-hitter in the Bangladesh team. He is likely to be picked at the expense of one of the regular batsmen, or a spinner, and will be asked to do half the job of a Pollard.

Team News

There are doubts over Mashrafe Mortaza's fitness, but he could be picked despite his thigh strain. He may last a 20-over game, but Mushfiqur has spoken about the risks involved.

Bangladesh (possible): 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Anamul Haque, 3 Jahurul Islam/Ziaur Rahman, 4 Nasir Hossain, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), 7 Mominul Haque, 8 Sohag Gazi, 9 Shafiul Islam/Mashrafe Mortaza, 10 Abdur Razzak, 11 Elias Sunny.

West Indies could include all four allrounders but they would have to leave out one of the spinners, and that could be Veerasammy Permaul.

West Indies (possible): 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Kieran Powell/Lendl Simmons, 3 Darren Bravo, 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Darren Sammy (capt), 7 Devon Thomas (wk), 8 Andre Russell, 9 Veerasammy Permaul, 10 Sunil Narine, 11 Kemar Roach.


"We are T20 champions and we have to play like that on Monday."
West Indies captain Darren Sammy

"The expectations are now higher but through success in the ODIs, I want this team to do well in formats like Twenty20s and Tests."
Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent