Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 4th ODI, Mirpur November 27, 2014

Masakadza unhappy with send-off in third ODI

Zimbabwe batsman Hamilton Masakadza has said that the send-off given by the Bangladesh players had provoked his angry reaction after his dismissal in the third ODI in Mirpur. Masakadza was given an official reprimand for a Level 1 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct, while Tamim Iqbal was docked 15% of his match fee for his role in the incident.

The incident occurred in the fifth over of Zimbabwe's innings after Masakadza was given out caught down the leg side by umpire Anisur Rahman. He stood at the crease for a while after the umpire had raised his finger, even as the Bangladesh players converged to celebrate. After TV replays showed that he had not nicked the Mashrafe Mortaza delivery, there was footage of Tamim saying something in his direction.

Masakadza reacted strongly, slapping the air with his bat a couple of times and even shoving away the substitute Zimbabwe player who was trying to appease him.

"I think it [the incident] is done," he said. "It was just a spur of the moment thing on the field. It is already finished. It has been a frustrating tour for us. Things have not gone our way. That does get to you a little bit towards the end, I guess.

"He [Anisur Rahman] is only human. You can't expect him to give everything 100% right. But I was a bit more annoyed with the guys giving me a send-off as I was walking off even though that was a bad decision.

"Some of the guys said a few things to me as I was walking off. That's what I was not happy with - not necessarily the decision, but the reaction of the Bangladeshis."

Tamim was found to have breached Article 2.1.4 of the Code for using "language or a gesture that is obscene, offensive or insulting during an International match." Masakadza, meanwhile, was reprimanded for breaching Article 2.1.8, which deals with "conduct that either (a) is contrary to the spirit of the game or (b) brings the game into disrepute".

During the Dhaka Test, there was sledging between the Bangladesh players and Zimbabwe batsman Sikandar Raza, while Mushfiqur Rahim and Tendai Chatara exchanged a few words during the second ODI. These incidents were not reported by the umpires.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Comments