The Mahmudullah run-out fiasco
The multiple mix-up
In the last ball of the 45th over, Mahmudullah pushed the ball towards Sikandar Raza at cover. He ran out of the crease but Mashrafe Mortaza at the other end refused him the single. Raza threw down the stumps, celebrated and Mahmudullah was walking off assuming he was out. What he didn't know, however, was that the wicketkeeper had knocked down the bails before the ball struck the stumps. Technically, Mahmudullah was not out.
Having walked back halfway to the dressing room, Mahmudullah stopped once again after the umpires wanted to be doubly sure and went to the third umpire. But to Zimbabwe's disappointment, out was quickly changed to not out, because the ball was already dead when Aleem Dar made the original decision. There were some signals from the dressing-room after which the Zimbabwe players went into a huddle to hold up play for a few minutes, but ultimately they continued with Mortaza and Chigumbura shaking hands.
Coincidence or destiny?
Mahmudullah was ultimately run out, with Chakabva scoring a direct hit in the last over as the Bangladesh batsman tried to reach the striker's end to face the last ball of the innings. But Chakabva was late by 20 runs.
The new six-hitter
Before Tamim had hit his first six, Imrul Kayes struck four - three over the leg-side boundary and one over extra-cover. Mushfiqur Rahim has been trying to hit a six over extra cover throughout this series but it was Kayes who finally nailed it. It was the shot of the afternoon. Here's how it went: he moved into the line of the Sikandar Raza delivery and smeared him over the off-side field. This is a very aggressive version of Kayes that has not been seen before this series.
Mustafizur Rahman can bowl like a proper left-arm pace bowler by bringing the ball into the right-hander, when he is not mixing it up with his cutters. An example of it was the shape he generated on the second delivery of the Zimbabwe innings when he swung one in after pitching around off-stump. Chamu Chibhabha who had hit the first ball for a four, had no clue as it burst into the stumps as he played all around it.
The bowling change
At the end of the eighth over of the Zimbabwe innings, Mashrafe Mortaza pondered a change in the bowling attack, but seemed double-minded. Mustafizur was about go back to his run-up when Mortaza and Tamim beckoned Nasir even as someone tried to locate Al-Amin Hossain. The pacer rushed out of the viewing room and into the view of the captain. Nasir thought Al-Amin would bowl but ultimately he started the over, and dismissed Craig Ervine four balls later.
The second knock-on
As if the Chakabva incident wasn't enough, Arafat Sunny did a similar thing in the 30th over of the Zimbabwe innings. As Sean Williams was sent back to the non-striker's end by Malcolm Waller, Sunny took the throw from midwicket, only to realise his front leg had touched the stumps and dislodged the bails. This time though, the TV umpire just took one look before declaring Williams not out.
Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84