Bangladesh A v Zimbabwe A March 9, 2004

Selectors name strong A team

Wisden Cricinfo staff

Bangladesh's selectors have included eight of the team currently touring Zimbabwe in a 25-strong Bangladesh A squad for two four-day matches and five one-day games against the Zimbabwe A team, who arrive in Dhaka on March 10 for their nmonth-long tour.

Faruque Ahmed, the chairman of selectors, explained that the series of washouts in Zimbabwe had robbed the senior players of precious experience, which is why his panel had added Alok Kapali, Al Shahriar, Hannan Sarker, Manjural Islam Rana, Mohammad Ashraful, Rajin Saleh, Shahriar Hossain and Tareq Aziz Khan to the A-team squad.

"The tour of Zimbabwe has been very frustrating so far," said Faruque. "Only one Test match could be held properly, and the players hardly had any chance to take the field. That's why we wanted to have them in the A squad." He added that the team needed to be strong, as Zimbabwe's A side included seven players with Test experience.

Some of the players who helped Bangladesh win the Plate Championship of the recent Under-19 World Cup - they beat Australia in the plate final - were also included: the left-arm spinner Enamul Haque Junior, who was the leading wicket-taker in the U19 World Cup, the fast bowler Shahadat Hossain Rajib, his new-ball partner Nazmul Hossain, wicketkeeper Dhiman Ghosh, and opener Nafis Iqbal. Aftab Ahmed, an attacking batsman, missed out as he is sitting exams, while the fast bowler Talha Jubair and U19 captain Ashiqur Rahman were battling injuries.

Faisal Hossain, a left-hander from Chittagong who has been a consistent success in domestic cricket this season, also got the call. He was the highest runscorer in the four-day competition with 730 in 18 innings.

Bangladesh A squad for series against Zimbabwe A
Shahriar Hossain, Hannan Sarker, Alok Kapali, Rajin Saleh, Tareq Aziz Khan, Mohammed Ashraful, Manzarul Islam Rana, Enamul Haque Junior, Al Shahriar, Anwar Hossain Munir, Alamgir Kabir, Nafees Iqbal, Nasiruddin Faruque, Dhiman Gosh, Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Rashedul Haq, Mazharul Haq, Tushar Imran, Mohammad Selim, Gazi Alamgir, Jamaluddin Babu, Nazmul Hossain, Faisal Hossain, Ehsanul Haque.