Based on performances in 2007 tournament

Groupings for 2009 ICC World Twenty20 fixed

Cricinfo staff

October 31, 2007

Text size: A | A

Twenty20 champions India have been grouped with Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in the first round of the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 which the ICC revealed today.

The ICC fixed the groups based on the positions the teams finished in the 2007 tournament in South Africa because not enough Twenty20 matches have been played to establish official rankings. Australia are in the toughest group - on paper - along with Sri Lanka and West Indies.

The ICC board discussed the groupings early after a request by the England board, which will host the event, so allow it to proceed with the bidding process for sponsors.

The groups (with 2007 finishing positions in brackets):

Group A
India (1)
Bangladesh (8)
Zimbabwe (9)

Group B
Pakistan (2)
England (7)
Associate 1 (10)

Group C
Australia (3)
Sri Lanka (6)
West Indies (11)

Group D
New Zealand (4)
South Africa (5)
Associate 2 (12)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Dhaka Metro v Rajshahi Div at Chittagong - Apr 19-22
Dhaka Metro 126 Rajshahi Div 139/7
Khulna Div v Dhaka Div at Cox's Bazar - Apr 19-22
Khulna Div 243 Dhaka Div 75/1
Rangpur Div v Barisal Div at Fatullah (Outer) - Apr 19-22
Barisal Div 289 Rangpur Div 89/2
Sylhet Div v Chittagong D at Savar (3) - Apr 19-22
Chittagong D 213 Sylhet Div 75/3
Cent Z (BD) v North Z (BD) in Bangladesh (venue TBA)
May 2-5, 2014 (03:30 GMT)
East Z (BD) v South Z (BD) in Bangladesh (venue TBA)
May 2-5, 2014 (03:30 GMT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days