Series set for May 2008

India, Pakistan and Bangladesh to face-off in tri-series

Cricinfo staff

November 12, 2007

Text size: A | A

India's hectic international schedule just got busier, with the Indian board confirming the team's participation in a tri-series in Bangladesh in May 2008, also involving Pakistan. The series is scheduled shortly after the South Africans wind up their tour of India, set to take place after India return from Australia in March.

"We can confirm that India will participate in the series with Bangladesh and Pakistan," Niranjan Shah, the BCCI secretary, told Cricinfo. "The fixtures and dates will be announced in 10-15 days' time."

South Africa were originally set to participate in the series but pulled out, and the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had invited Pakistan instead. "Originally the South African team was to participate in the tri-nation series along with India and Bangladesh," Gazi Ashraf Hossain, the BCB's operations chief, told "However, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has pulled out and we have invited the Pakistan Cricket Board to send the team and they have agreed."

The three sides last met in a tri-series in Bangladesh in 1998, with India edging out Pakistan in a best-of-three finals. This series will have the teams playing each other twice in the league stages before the final.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
Old DOHS v PSC at Fatullah - Dec 20
PSC won by 88 runs
Kalabagan KC v PSC at Savar (3)
Dec 22, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST)
Bangladesh v Pakistan at Sydney
Feb 9, 2015 (14:30 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Bangladesh v Ireland at Sydney
Feb 12, 2015 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 18:00 EST | 17:00 CST | 15:00 PST)
7th Match, Pool A: Afghanistan v Bangladesh at Canberra
Feb 18, 2015 (14:30 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days