ICC Under-19 World Cup 2010 December 24, 2009

Mahmudul Hasan to captain Bangladesh in U-19 World Cup

Cricinfo staff

Mahmudul Hasan has been appointed as Bangladesh captain for the Under-19 World Cup to be held in New Zealand in January. Hasan, who featured in the 2008 edition of the tournament in Malaysia as well, has successfully led the U-19 side this year during their home series against Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and England. He was also in charge when the team won the ODI series against England in July.

Amit Majumder, who will also be playing his second U-19 World Cup, has been named as Mahmudul's deputy. The 15-member squad includes two wicketkeepers in Nurul Hasan and Anamul Haque.

Squad: Mahmudul Hasan (capt), Amit Majumder (vice-capt), Alauddin Babu, Anamul Haque (wk), Arman Badsha, Abul Hasan Raju, Kamrul Islam, Muminul Haque Showrav, Nur Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Saikat Ali, Shabbir Rahman, Shaker Ahmed, Soumya Sarkar, Tasamul Hoque.