Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup 2012

Khatun to captain Bangladesh in Women's T20 Asia Cup

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 16, 2012

Comments: 3 | Text size: A | A

Salma Khatun leads the Bangladesh Twenty20 squad in the upcoming Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup, which starts October 24 in Guangzhou, China. In a largely unchanged squad from the series against South Africa in September, allrounder Panna Ghosh and Shamima Sultana have been included.

Bangladesh, who couldn't qualify for the recently concluded Women's World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, played South Africa at home and participated in the Ireland tri-series in August this year.

They play three group matches before the knockouts, in a tournament that features China, Thailand, Nepal and Hong Kong besides the four subcontinent nations. The matches will be played at the Guanggong International Cricket Stadium in Guangzhou, the venue for the 2010 Asian Games.

Squad: Salma Khatun (captain), Shukhtara Rahman (vice-captain), Sharmin Akhter, Rumana Ahmed, Farzana Haque, Jahanara Alam, Lata Mondal, Nuzhat Tasnia, Khadija Tul Kubra, Ritu Moni, Sanjida Islam, Lily Bishwash, Tazia Akhter, Panna Ghosh, Shamima Sultana

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Mushtanda on (October 17, 2012, 1:41 GMT)

She might as well captain their men's team!

Posted by Summer_Sport on (October 16, 2012, 15:14 GMT)

The Bangladesh Women team just started Cricket recently in the International stage and they beat South Africa in an odi and t20 game I think pretty impressive hope it goes well.

Posted by   on (October 16, 2012, 14:54 GMT)

Where is Sathira Jakir? She is a very good batswoman, we need her.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Players/Officials: Salma Khatun
Teams: Bangladesh
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at St George's
Aug 20, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
2nd ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at St George's
Aug 22, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
3rd ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at Basseterre
Aug 25, 2014 (14:30 local | 18:30 GMT | 14:30 EDT | 13:30 CDT | 11:30 PDT)
Only T20I: West Indies v Bangladesh at Basseterre
Aug 27, 2014 (18:30 local | 22:30 GMT | 18:30 EDT | 17:30 CDT | 15:30 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Bangladesh at Kingstown
Sep 5-9, 2014 (10:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT | 09:00 CDT | 07:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!