Bangladesh news

Twelve councillors elected BCB directors

Mohammad Isam

October 7, 2013

Text size: A | A

Twelve more councillors have been elected unopposed as directors of the Bangladesh Cricket Board. As a result, there won't be any election for directorship in category 2 of councillors in the October 10 board elections.

This segment of the elections was to determine the directors from the Dhaka clubs, 58 of whom would hold voting powers as councillors. Already, seven directors have been elected unopposed from category 1, those of the districts and divisional councillors.

Enayet Hossain Siraj, Afzalur Rahman Sinha, Ahmed Iqbal Hasan, Mahbubul Anam, Jalal Yunus, Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan, Gazi Golam Mortuza, Tanzil Chowdhury, Nazmul Karim, Najib Ahmed and Shaukat Aziz are the directors-elect from the Dhaka clubs. They are also members of a panel led by Nazmul Hasan, the incumbent BCB president.

Meanwhile, Hasan has withdrawn as a councillor and has been appointed as a BCB director in the National Sports Council quota. Ismail Haider Mallick and Ahmed Sajjadul Alam are the other directors from the quota.

Three directors' position from category 1 will be contested while the only director's post in category 3 will be contested by two former Bangladesh captains, Gazi Ashraf Hossain and Khaled Mahmud.

They will be voted by 45 councillors of category 3 which consists of the educational boards, armed forces and others.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here

RSS Feeds: Mohammad Isam

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Mohammad IsamClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Abahani Ltd v Kalabagan KC at Fatullah
Nov 28, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST)
Mohammedan v Old DOHS at Savar (3)
Nov 28, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST)
PSC v Victoria SC at Savar (4)
Nov 28, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST)
4th ODI: Bangladesh v Zimbabwe at Dhaka - Nov 28
Bangladesh 140/4 (33/50 ov)
5th ODI: Bangladesh v Zimbabwe at Dhaka
Dec 1, 2014 (12:30 local | 06:30 GMT | 01:30 EST | 00:30 CST | 22:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days