Dhaka Premier Division 2013

Dhanmondi win rematch, make league second phase

ESPNcricinfo staff

November 18, 2013

Text size: A | A

Abdur Razzak took five wickets, Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 3rd ODI, Pallekele, March 28, 2013
File photo: Abdur Razzak picked up three wickets, after caning 39 off 18 © Associated Press

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club clinched a berth in the Dhaka Premier League's second phase, comfortably beating Brothers Union by 70 runs in their rematch in Mirpur. Half-centuries from Jahurul Islam, Steven Crook and Elton Chigumbura took Dhanmondi to 282 for 7. Brothers Union then crumbled from 112 for 2 in the 25th over to be bowled out for 212.

Dhanmondi join Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Kalabagan Cricket Academy, Gazi Tank Cricketers, Prime Bank Cricket Club and Mohammedan Sporting Club in the second phase, with Brothers Union missing out. Brothers Union had beaten Dhanmondi by six wickets on November 9. However, BCB's disciplinary committee ordered the rematch after Dhanmondi protested the participation of the suspended Suhrawadi Shuvo during that game. Shuvo led Brothers Union in the match and claimed 3 for 29 from ten overs.

In the rematch, Dhanmondi started disastrously, getting reduced to 10 for 2 after choosing to bat. Opener Jahurul and captain Mushfiqur Rahim steadied the innings before the latter fell for 43. The next two batsmen, Crook and Chigumbura, made fifties at more than a run a ball as Dhanmondi picked up pace. Abdur Razzak provided a late flourish, caning an unbeaten 39 off 18. Alok Kapali was the most successful bowler for Brothers Union, ending with 3 for 34 from eight overs.

Nafees Iqbal then put on 50 and 56 for the second and third wickets, the latter stand coming in the company of his captain Kapali. Elias Sunny dismissed Nafees for 62 and Brothers Union lost wickets regularly after that. Sean Williams was run out by his countryman Chigumbura for 9. Kapali became the first of Razzak's three victims after making 45. Sean Ervine was the third, his exit in the 47th over sealing a big win for Dhanmondi.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at St George's
Aug 20, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
2nd ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at St George's
Aug 22, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
3rd ODI: West Indies v Bangladesh at Basseterre
Aug 25, 2014 (14:30 local | 18:30 GMT | 14:30 EDT | 13:30 CDT | 11:30 PDT)
Only T20I: West Indies v Bangladesh at Basseterre
Aug 27, 2014 (18:30 local | 22:30 GMT | 18:30 EDT | 17:30 CDT | 15:30 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Bangladesh at Kingstown
Sep 5-9, 2014 (10:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT | 09:00 CDT | 07:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days