Bangladesh news December 3, 2013

Chance for Bangladesh to fix T20 woes


Bangladesh's preparation for the upcoming World Twenty20 begins next Tuesday as the senior side gear up to face the A team in three Twenty20 matches. A two-man selection panel has picked a youthful second-string side against a Bangladesh team which includes Shakib Al Hasan, the allrounder having recovered from dengue fever, which he contracted on the eve of the first ODI against New Zealand in October.

The team will however be without the experience of Tamim Iqbal, as the left-hand opener is still recovering from an abdominal injury that resulted in him missing out on the third ODI of the New Zealand series, as well as the one-off T20 match. They will be led by Mushfiqur Rahim, who has been given an extension till the 2015 World Cup as captain.

Nasir Hossain will lead a strong A team which includes Imrul Kayes, the second-highest scorer in the Dhaka Premier League, as well as Marshall Ayub who played two Tests in October. The side is packed with three allrounders in Farhad Reza, Muktar Ali and Alauddin Babu - who, admittedly, recently conceded 39 runs off an over in a DPL match.

All three matches will be held at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, with the first two - on December 10 and 12 - being played in the evening. The final game, on December 14, will be played in the afternoon.

The series is the brainchild of Bangladesh coach Shane Jurgensen who, like the members of the team management, is looking to fix the team's problematic T20 setup. Bangladesh are currently No. 10 in the ICC Twenty20 rankings, 15 rating points behind Ireland. They have won only two of their last ten international matches in this format.

In the World Twenty20, which they are hosting, Bangladesh will take on Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Nepal in the first round of the competition, from which only one team will qualify to the following stage.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Naeem Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah , Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza, Ziaur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain.

Bangladesh A: Nasir Hossain (capt), Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Marshal Ayub, Sabbir Rahman, Nazmul Hossain, Farhad Reza, Arafat Sunny, Elias Sunny, Muktar Ali, Alauddin Babu.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Amar on December 8, 2013, 15:43 GMT

    If Bangladesh has to do well abroad, they need to relay their wickets. They need to be dug up, and juice has to be injected which will induce bounce and pace even grass should be grown on your pitches. Please rectify the needful.

  • Md. Shamsul on December 8, 2013, 7:57 GMT

    I think this is a good effort from BCB to arrange some practice for the cricketers in the T/20 format of the game. But we need to find out some T/20 Specialist who can bat with a high strike rate and can bowl too with 6/7 runs economy rate per over. However it can be more better if we manage some international team to invite in BD and play a few T/20 Matches against our national team. The media committee of BCB should try to contact some of private TV channels and some of FM radio station so that they come forward to telecast those three match live from the venue. As crowd has a great interest to follow those three match even those are practice match, but still we want to follow these matches as cricket fan of BCB. May be GTV and Radio Bhumi may come forward to do that event for live broadcast. Wish a great success of our cricket team. Md. Shamsul Islam, Sports Commentator, Radio & TV from Bangladesh.

  • Nifazur on December 7, 2013, 11:40 GMT

    Afganistan is not a factor...because bangladeshi Tigers are ready and hungry Meet (not only afgan also other country) with them ......

  • Farhan on December 5, 2013, 13:04 GMT

    This is pointless to be honest. There is no point playing against A team because that is not going to help us improve. Before last t20 WC we played against Ireland, Scotland etc and didnt help us. We are a pathetic T20 team and we need to play against good team to improve. So BCB please get some international team to play against us

  • Android on December 5, 2013, 12:46 GMT

    not afganistan, its bangladesh will play main round t20 wc in bangladesh.

  • Ata on December 5, 2013, 5:42 GMT

    I am sorry to say Bangladesh have to play qualifier round to enter T20 WC main event, in the qualifier round they will face Afghanistan in their group, only one of these teams will play in main event, and I guess it will be Afghanistan.

  • Mehdi on December 4, 2013, 15:49 GMT

    why not organize a t20 series just before t20 qualifiers if it is possible. bring one or two of big boys with zim and Bd. that sounds better and it would be nice to watch it

  • Mehdi on December 4, 2013, 15:46 GMT

    Before the Srilanka test series it is good to arrange some longer version games. Same for t20 qualifiers. before t20 qualifiers we also need some match practices for shorter version but what is the most important is domestic first class cricket which is our ultimate goal to improve. BD needs to win a precious test matches against big 8.

  • Mehdi on December 4, 2013, 15:32 GMT

    BD can not improve playing with weak opponents. IF they need more match practice then send u19, A and development squads frequently in those foreign countries with difficult pitch conditions. BD should more concentrate on improving domestic first class structure and needs to solve BPL issues. BD also needs competitive T20 and OneDay competitons. Playing less with strongest team is much much better than playing against weak teams for sake match practics.

  • Chris on December 4, 2013, 10:21 GMT

    In order for Bangladesh to do even more well then they need more International exposure minimum 6 Tests, 8 T20s and 20 ODIs a year. I like how Akram Khan earlier said that Bangladesh need to fill in the calendar that is not already part of ftp because the ftp is simply unkind to Bangladesh and won't develop the team at all with the matches they have on it. Realistically the team needs more A and under-19 tours away and at the main level have a long rocky road in tests but can now see them challenging anyone in ODIs now. So all in all good progress have been made by Bangladesh Cricket since 2012. Sri Lanka is another important step that is coming up.

  • No featured comments at the moment.