Dhaka Premier League 2014-15

Gazi Tank sign four more Bangladesh players

Mohammad Isam

August 29, 2014

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan drive around in the rain, Bangladesh v New Zealand, 1st Test, 4th day, Chittagong, October 12, 2013
Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan will represent Gazi Tank Cricketers in the Dhaka Premier League © AFP
Related Links
Teams: Bangladesh

After confirming Shakib Al Hasan, Dhaka Premier League defending champions Gazi Tank Cricketers have signed four other Bangladesh players during the two-day players' transfer window. Comparatively, the other top clubs from last season have been conservative in their spending.

Gazi Tank have Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Junaid Siddique, Jahurul Islam, Mosharraf Hossain and veteran allrounder Faisal Hossain in their ranks while they let go of Mahmudullah, Imrul Kayes and Aftab Ahmed among the big names from their victorious 2013-14 side.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, the runners-up from last year, saw Mushfiqur Rahim, Shafiul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Elias Sunny, Junaid and Jahurul leave, while they added Arafat Sunny, Shahriar Nafees and Dollar Mahmud. Their failure to win the competition last season as well as the club's focus on football may have prompted the lighter squad.

Mushfiqur, Shafiul and Sunny moved to Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club that retained Mominul Haque. Prime Bank Cricket Club also bought well by signing Mahmudullah, Farhad Reza and Taskin Ahmed.

Among the traditional giants, Mohammedan Sporting Club retained Mashrafe Mortaza while signing Naeem Islam and Mohammad Mithun, while Shamsur Rahman went to Kalabagan Krira Chakra. Abahani, the record 17-time champions, were very poor last season. They signed Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman and Saqlain Sajib among the big names, while Nazimuddin and Shahriar Nafees left the club.

Imrul Kayes, the highest scorer among the local players from last season, moved to Victoria Sporting Club while the highest wicket-taker Arafat Sunny had a hard time finding a club. Sohag Gazi remains the only national-pool player without a club, though he is linked to Dhanmondi.

Mahbubul Alam Robin, who was acquitted from the BPL tribunal earlier this year, signed for Kalabagan Krira Chakra.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

RSS Feeds: Mohammad Isam

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (September 1, 2014, 18:42 GMT)

Hard to believe that players like Ghazi who lay in the National XI can't find a place in the domestic club sides. Why would Sunny the highest wicket taker be ignored? Selection is a curious puzzle. Very hard to understand.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Mohammad IsamClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Kalabagan KC v Old DOHS at Savar (4) - Dec 18
Kalabagan KC won by 8 wickets (with 41 balls remaining)
Old DOHS v PSC at Fatullah
Dec 20, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST)
Kalabagan KC v PSC at Savar (3)
Dec 22, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST)
Bangladesh v Pakistan at Sydney
Feb 9, 2015 (14:30 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Bangladesh v Ireland at Sydney
Feb 12, 2015 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 18:00 EST | 17:00 CST | 15:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days