March 8, 2006

Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea cricket receives sponsorship


The Papua New Guinea cricket board (PNGCB) has received extra funding, and have opened up a qualifying structure to allow more teams and players to qualify for the National Cricket Championship.

The chairman of the PNGCB Mick Nades announced this during the signing of K25,000 sponsorship from SP Brewery to back the Board to stage SP Lager Super Series cricket title. Nades said Port Moresby had been the dominant force in PNG cricket history and arguably the best organised competition in the country. With the new structure, the top teams in the elimination process will proceed to play in the championship. All five affiliated associations – Port Moresby, Lae, Central, Alotau and Popondetta – have been invited including five invitational sides – Aroma Coast, Fairfax, Koita Warriors, PNG Development Squad and Tabubil. Port Moresby will field three teams, Port Moresby 1, Port Moresby 2 and Port Moresby U23, Central will have two teams, Central One and Central Two, while Alotau and Lae one each. Eleven teams will take part in the qualifying and elimination series which starts on March 18-19.

More information can be found at The National


RSS Feeds: Will

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.