January 23, 2010

Asian Games

Afghanistan, Nepal, Hong Kong target Asian Games

Tony Munro

Tony Munro

Afghanistan, Nepal and Hong Kong are the latest non-Test countries to indicate they will apply for inclusion in the cricket section of the Asian Games in Guangzhou in November.

Potential participants must apply to the Asian Cricket Council to take part in the men's and women's tournaments, to be played using the Twenty20 format.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are expected to field teams, although there is doubt their squads will be full strength. As the hosts, China are an automatic inclusion, while Japan had earlier said they will apply.

Eligibility is restricted to passport holders. The Asian Hong Kong Cricket Association General Manager, Danny Lai, told the Asian Cricket Council website this wouldn't be a problem for the men's team. "We will have no problems, all the Pakistanis have Hong Kong passports,” he said. “The best of the Under-19s currently in New Zealand for the World Cup will feature as well as the seniors in the squad we send to Guangzhou."


RSS Feeds: Tony Munro

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by angad on (February 11, 2010, 16:48 GMT)

since these three non test playing country had already given there reasonable profermence in age group level they must get good chance for incounter wiyh big teams too so that get good exprence nand learn new style of playing by watching at top players from opposition

Comments have now been closed for this article