Bodyline Series / Players / David Green

David Green      

Full name David Michael Green

Born November 10, 1939, Llanengan, Caernarvon, Wales

Died March 19, 2016, Devon (aged 76 years 130 days)

Major teams Gloucestershire, Lancashire, Oxford University

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm medium

Other Journalist

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 266 479 15 13381 233 28.83 14 78 96 0
List A 65 65 1 1706 127* 26.65 1 9 14 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 266 9542 4460 116 5/61 38.44 2.80 82.2 1 0
List A 65 1796 1102 48 4/21 4/21 22.95 3.68 37.4 2 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1959 - 1971
List A span 1964 - 1973
Profile

David Green was a top-order batsman and a useful medium-pacer, described by Wisden as "undoubtedly the sort of player the game demands - aggressive, talented and entertaining, a forceful driver of the ball, a neat exponent of the pull and cut, and also a sweeper of more than average ability".

  • Read More
Latest Articles
Latest Photos

Jul 22, 1959

David Green bats for Lancashire against Middlesex at Lord's, July 22, 1959

David Green bats for Lancashire against Middlesex at Lord's

© PA Photos

Notes

Wisden Cricketer of the Year 1969

Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 17:01 EDT | 16:01 CDT | 14:01 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 17:01 EDT | 16:01 CDT | 14:01 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 17:01 EDT | 16:01 CDT | 14:01 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days