Bodyline Series / Players / Balan Pandit

Balan Pandit      

Full name Madhavan Balan Pandit

Born June 16, 1926, Koonammavu, Kerala

Died June 5, 2013, Ernakulam, Kerala (aged 86 years 354 days)

Major teams Kathiawar, Kerala, Travancore-Cochin

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Legbreak

Fielding position Wicketkeeper

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 46 82 4 2317 262* 29.70 5 6 35 3
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ SR 5w 10
First-class 46 572 275 5 3/144 55.00 2.88 114.4 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1946/47 - 1969/70

A wicketkeeper-batsman, Pandit began playing first-class cricket in 1946 and represented Kathiawar, Kerala and Travancore-Cochin. He was a wicketkeeper for Kathiawar in the match against Maharashtra, in December 1948, when Bhausaheb Nimbalkar scored an unbeaten 443 runs, the highest first-class score by an Indian batsman. In a Ranji Trophy match in 1959 against Andhra, his 14th for Kerala, Pandit scored an unbeaten 262, which was the record individual score for Kerala before Sreekumar Nair hit a triple century against Services in 2007. As a wicketkeeper, he completed 35 catches and three stumpings during his first-class career. As an administrator, Pandit was a member of India's junior selection committee and was also the chairman of Kerala's selection committee. He also served as vice-president of Kerala Cricket Association.

Latest Articles
Country Fixtures Country Results
Group A: Assam v Odisha at Delhi - Feb 28
Odisha won by 9 wickets (with 87 balls remaining)
Group A: Baroda v Punjab at Delhi - Feb 28
Baroda won by 75 runs
Group C: Bengal v Goa at Chennai - Feb 28
Bengal won by 8 wickets (with 85 balls remaining)
Group D: Chhattisgarh v J + K at Kolkata - Feb 28
Chhattisgarh won by 4 runs
Group B: Delhi v Maharashtra at Cuttack - Feb 28
Maharashtra won by 195 runs
Group C: Gujarat v Rajasthan at Chennai - Feb 28
Rajasthan won by 14 runs
Group B: H. Pradesh v Tamil Nadu at Cuttack - Feb 28
Tamil Nadu won by 8 wickets (with 46 balls remaining)
Group D: Jharkhand v Services at Kalyani - Feb 28
Jharkhand won by 7 wickets (with 22 balls remaining)
Group D: Karnataka v Saurashtra at Kolkata - Feb 28
Karnataka won by 73 runs
Group C: M. Pradesh v Mumbai at Chennai - Feb 28
M. Pradesh won by 80 runs
Group A: Railways v Vidarbha at Delhi - Feb 28
Vidarbha won by 8 wickets (with 28 balls remaining)
Group B: Tripura v U. Pradesh at Bhubaneswar - Feb 28
Tripura won by 2 wickets (with 40 balls remaining)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days