Bodyline Series / Players / Albert Craig

Albert Craig      

Full name Albert Craig

Born 1850, Huddersfield, Yorkshire

Died July 8, 1909, Clapham, London (aged 59 years)

Nickname The Surrey Poet

Albert Craig
Profile

Albert Craig, The Surrey Poet, died after a long illness at 8, Mayflower Road, Clapham, on July 8th in his 60th year. A Yorkshireman by birth and up-bringing, he started life as a Post Office Clerk in Huddersfield, but was still a young man when, discovering that verse-making was his forte, he decided to devote his time and energies to celebrating the doings of cricketers and footballers. He was a familiar and welcome figure on the chief grounds in all parts of the country, but especially those of Surrey and Kent. He was possessed of much humour and it was seldom indeed that anyone had the best of him in a battle of wits. His pleasantries, which were never ill-natured, served to beguile many a long wait occasioned by the weather.
Wisden Cricketers' Almanack

Latest Photos

Jun 1, 1907

Albert Craig, known as The Surrey Poet, in action at The Oval

Albert Craig, known as The Surrey Poet, in action at The Oval

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 09:04 EDT | 08:04 CDT | 06:04 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 09:04 EDT | 08:04 CDT | 06:04 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 09:04 EDT | 08:04 CDT | 06:04 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days