Canada in South Africa 2006-07 October 18, 2006

Ontario dominate South Africa squad

Cricinfo staff

Canada's selectors have named a 13-man squad for the trip to visit South Africa which gets underway next month. After a warm-up game, Canada play ODIs with The Netherlands and Bermuda, and then meet the Netherlands in a four-day Intercontinental Cup match starting on December 5.

Eleven of the squad are from Ontario, including George Codrington, named captain. Quaiser Ali (Quebec) is vice-captain. A number of players were not available for various reasons, including the overseas-based John Davison, Geoff Barnett and Ian Billcliff. This will put extra pressure on the remaining batsmen. Codrington, Ali, Sandeep Jyoti, Ashih Bagai and Abdool Samad each made promising scores during some of this summer's matches.

The regular opening bowling duo of Umar Bhatti and Henry Osinde, rated the best bowlers among the Associate Members, are supported by veteran seamer Sanjay Thuraisingham. Codrington, Kevin Sandher and Sunil Dhaniram head the spin attack.

Sandher, Dhaniram, Samad and Bagai are currently in South Africa attending the ICC High Performance Winter Training Camp.

Canada squad Qaiser Ali, Ashish Bagai, Umar Bhatti, George Codrington, Desmond Chumney, Sunil Dhaniram, Sandeep Jyoti, Don Maxwell, Asif Mulla, Henry Osinde, Abdool Samad, Kevin Sandher, Sanjay Thuraissingham.