Canada news April 4, 2012

Ravin Moorthy elected Cricket Canada's president

ESPNcricinfo staff

Ravin Moorthy has been named Cricket Canada's president, following the board's annual directors meeting. Moorthy, who has previously served as vice-president of the board and Canada's high performance manager, succeeds Ranjit Saini.

Vimal Hardat was re-elected as a vice-president and is joined by Amit Joshi, who was elected to the post of vice-president during the meeting. Calvin Clarke was also re-elected to his position as board secretary.

"I would like to thank the board of directors for showing their confidence in me to lead Cricket Canada through this important period of growth and development," Moorthy said. "Cricket is cross-cultural, generational, and connects millions of Canadians in communities across this country. Cricket Canada will be calling on all stake holders including Canadian corporations and the government of Canada to support the organisation through these exciting next steps."

"I would like to also thank Ranjit Saini for his tireless efforts to move the organisation forward during his tenure. He was instrumental in establishing Cricket Canada's Summer Festival and a played a prominent role in Cricket Canada being accepted into the Canadian Olympic Committee."

During the meeting, former vice-president Clifford Cox, who died in February, was presented the Cricket Canada Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously.