Caribbean Premier League news July 2, 2013

CPL appoints franchise captains

ESPNcricinfo staff

The captains for the six participating franchises in the inaugural season of the Caribbean Premier League have been announced. Dwayne Bravo, the West Indies ODI captain, will lead the T&T Red Steel team, and West Indies' Test and T20 captain Darren Sammy has been named the captain for St Lucia Zouks.

The other four captains are: Chris Gayle for Jamaica Tallawahs, Marlon Samuels for Antigua Hawksbills, Kieron Pollard for Barbados Tridents, and Ramnaresh Sarwan for Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Sarwan, who last played a T20 for West Indies in 2010, said: "It is a great honour to have been chosen to captain the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the first ever Caribbean Premier League T20 tournament. I have the opportunity to work with and lead some of the best players in the region and the world, and I am looking forward to using my years of experience to guide the Amazon Warriors to victory."

The tournaments starts on July 30 with a match between Barbados Tridents and St Lucia Zouks in Bridgetown.