Champions League T20 2012

Jayawardene to lead Daredevils in CLT20

ESPNcricinfo staff

September 15, 2012

Comments: 14 | Text size: A | A

Mahela Jayawardene on his way to a half-century, Delhi Daredevils v Chennai Super Kings, 2nd eliminator, IPL 2012, Chennai, May 25, 2012
Mahela Jayawardene will lead Delhi Daredevils in South Africa © Associated Press
Related Links
Players/Officials: Mahela Jayawardene | Virender Sehwag
Series/Tournaments: Champions League Twenty20

Mahela Jayawardene will captain IPL team Delhi Daredevils in the Champions League T20 in October after Virender Sehwag asked the franchise to be relieved of the responsibility. Sehwag had led Daredevils in four out of five IPL seasons but said he now wanted to focus on his batting.

"Viru told us a few months ago that he wanted to bat freely and suggested that we make Mahela the captain of the side," Delhi Daredevils mentor TA Sekar said.

Daredevils are in Group A of the CLT20, with Kolkata Knight Riders, Perth Scorchers, Titans and a qualifier. Group B comprises Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Sydney Sixers, Highveld Lions and a qualifier. The qualifiers will be two teams out of Trinidad and Tobago, Sialkot Stallions, Uva Next, Yorkshire, Hampshire and Auckland Aces. The tournament begins on October 9 in South Africa.

Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), David Warner, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Morne Morkel, Andre Russell, Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Venugopal Rao, Pawan Negi, Naman Ojha (wk), Ajit Agarkar, Unmukt Chand, Aavishkar Salvi.*

September 21, 2012. 0700 GMT - This was amended to state that Aavishkar Salvi had replaced Varun Aaron, who was ruled out of the tournament as he is to undergo tonsillectomy

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (September 17, 2012, 3:45 GMT)

What happened to shahbaz nadeem,the best economic bowler from the team

Posted by vrn59 on (September 15, 2012, 15:38 GMT)

My DD XI: DA Warner, V Sehwag, KP Pietersen, DPMD Jayawardene (C), NV Ojha (wk), Y Venugopal Rao, IK Pathan, AB Agarkar / P Negi, M Morkel, UT Yadav, S Nadeem. Maybe U Chand could be tried out in the top order.

Posted by mr.rama on (September 15, 2012, 13:15 GMT)

where is shabaaz nadeem...he is one of the good bowlers for DD..and the team desperately need him as he is a quality spinner!

Posted by joseyesu on (September 15, 2012, 13:15 GMT)

Jayawerdene, pls don't do any blunder of leaving out morkel. Jayawerdene, Pieterson, Morkel and who is the fourth

Posted by kkk999 on (September 15, 2012, 11:01 GMT)

where is nadeem and varun aaron?????????????/

Posted by   on (September 15, 2012, 10:59 GMT)

It is a very interesting decission made by viru pa ji... Hope for the best. I am sure this time DD will make me happy by winning the CLT20 title....

Best of luck DD nd Viru pa ji...

Posted by Siddiee on (September 15, 2012, 9:31 GMT)

MJ should have been benched instead he is asked to lead the side. I cant see him playing in top 3 and don't think he can be better than either Taylor or Russell down the order. With Morne and KP walking in DD will have to bench 2 of Warner,Taylor and Russell for a player who will score 30-40 runs at just over run a ball, something that can be matched by the combination of Venu & Ojha. Horrible decision DD.

Posted by   on (September 15, 2012, 9:12 GMT)

where is varun aaron?????

Posted by SamRoy on (September 15, 2012, 9:09 GMT)

The team doesn't have a good spinner. In T20 you need at least one fine spinner to bring some control in case all your fast bowlers start getting hammered.

Posted by   on (September 15, 2012, 8:01 GMT)

On paper, this team looks stronger than than the recently chosen ICC 2011-12 one day team. Good to see that Veeru has had a reality check. This augurs well for Daredevils. Kevin Pietersen would also like to prove a point or two. I think, Daredevils are going to perform well in Champions League T20.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Tournament Results
Lions v Syd Sixers at Johannesburg - Oct 28, 2012
Syd Sixers won by 10 wickets (with 45 balls remaining)
Syd Sixers v Titans at Centurion - Oct 26, 2012
Syd Sixers won by 2 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
Daredevils v Lions at Durban - Oct 25, 2012
Lions won by 22 runs
Daredevils v Titans at Centurion - Oct 23, 2012
No result (abandoned with a toss)
Auckland v Scorchers at Centurion - Oct 23, 2012
Scorchers won by 16 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days