Champions League T20 2014 August 22, 2014

Players choose IPL sides over domestic teams

ESPNcricinfo staff

The eight players selected by more than one team competing in the 2014 Champions League T20 have chosen to represent their IPL franchise and not their national domestic team.

Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga picked Mumbai Indians over Northern Knights, Barbados Tridents and Southern Express respectively; George Bailey and David Miller chose Kings XI Punjab over Hobart Hurricanes and Dolphins; Pat Cummins and Jacques Kallis will play for Kolkata Knight Riders and not Perth Scorchers and Cape Cobras; and Dwayne Smith will turn out for Chennai Super Kings and not Barbados Tridents.

"Like previous seasons, players who have been named by more than one team have been asked to nominate which side they are going to represent," CLT20 governing council member Dean Kino said. "Players are free to make any decision they wish. Teams are then allowed to replace any player that has withdrawn from their squad and elected to play for another side.

"CLT20 regulations state that when a player elects to play for their 'away' team, that team must pay the 'home' team $150,000 compensation per player. A 'home' team is classified as a team from the country a player is eligible to represent in international cricket."

The qualifying stage for the tournament will be held from September 13 to 16, while the main leg will be between September 17 and October 4, in Raipur, Mohali, Hyderabad and Bangalore.


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ashish Nehra, Mithun Manhas, R Ashwin, Ishwar Pandey, Pawan Negi, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma, Dwayne Smith, Dwayne Bravo, John Hastings, Brendon McCullum, Samuel Badree, Faf du Plessis.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Robin Uthappa, Piyush Chawla, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine, Jacques Kallis, Ryan ten Doeschate, Morne Morkel, Pat Cummins, Andre Russell.

Northern Knights: Ish Sodhi, Jono Boult, Brad Wilson, Kane Williamson, Daniel Flynn, BJ Watling, Graeme Aldridge, Anton Devcich, Tim Southee, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Daniel Harris, Scott Styris, Trent Boult, Daniel Vettori.

Perth Scorchers: Ashton Agar, Yasir Arafat, Michael Beer, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Brad Hogg, Simon Mackin, Mitchell Marsh, Joel Paris, Craig Simmons, Ashton Turner, Adam Voges, Sam Whiteman.

Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey, Thisara Perera, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Akshar Patel, Karanveer Singh, L Balaji, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Virender Sehwag, Wriddhiman Saha, Anureet Singh, Parvinder Awana.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Pragyan Ojha, Praveen Kumar, Aditya Tare, Jalaj Saxena, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, Michael Hussey, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Lasith Malinga, Marchant de Lange, Lendl Simmons.

Southern Express: Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunatilake, Angelo Perera, Jehan Mubarak, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Seekuge Prasanna, Ishan Jayaratne, Farvez Maharoof, Kasun Madushanka, Yasoda Lanka, Charith Jayampathi, Sachith Pathirana, Sandaken Lakshen, Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Cape Cobras: Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Justin Kemp, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Richard Levi, Aviwe Mgijima, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Zakhele Qwabe, Omphile Ramela, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas.

Lahore Lions: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Siddique Khan, Mohammad Umar Akmal, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Salman Ali, Asif Raza, Mohammad Mustafa Iqbal, Wahab Riaz, Aizaz Cheema, Imran Ali, Saad Naseem, Adnan Rasool, Mohammad Saeed, Ali Manzoor.

Hobart Hurricanes: Tim Paine, Jon Wells, Evan Gulbis, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Dom Michael, Sam Rainbird, Travis Birt, Doug Bollinger, Aiden Blizzard, Cameron Boyce, Joe Mennie, Ben Laughlin, Ben Dunk, Shoaib Malik.

Dolphins: Daryn Smit, Daryn Dupavillon, Cody Chetty, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Khayelihle Zondo, Robbie Frylinck, Morne van Wyk, Kyle Abbott, Craig Alexander, Jonathan Vandiar, Keshav Maharaj, Prenelan Subrayen, Cameron Delport, Andile Phehlukwayo, Sibonelo Makhanya

Barbados Tridents: Shane Dowrich, Jeevan Mendis, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Neil Mckenzie, Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Rayad Emrit, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, William Perkins, James Franklin, Elton Chigumbura, Dilshan Munaweera.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Android on September 10, 2014, 19:31 GMT

    cool teams ready to fight against each other

  • ESPN on August 29, 2014, 9:29 GMT

    Lahore Lions is better than previous 2 teams who played Qualify round Sialkot stallions and Faisalabad Wolves.. InshaAllah Lahore Lions will qualify for the main round nd will win the CLT2014..

  • Dummy4 on August 26, 2014, 12:01 GMT

    A correction to my earlier comment.....

    Ben Hilfenhaus has also selected his home franchise [Hobart Hurricanes] over his IPL Team [CSK]..........

  • Dummy4 on August 25, 2014, 11:26 GMT

    this time for LAHORE LOINS 1.ahmed shehzad 2.nasir jamshed 3.Umar Siddiq 4.M hafeez 5.umar akmal 6.Saad Nasim 7.Mohammad Salman 8.wahab raiz 9. Imran Ali 10.Aizaz Cheema 11.Adnan Rasool

    it"s my fav team inshallah this team will win CLT20

  • Dummy4 on August 25, 2014, 11:04 GMT

    Expect Barbados Tridents to be the whipping boys this year..... Dwayne Smith selecting CSK, Kieron Pollard selecting MI, and Shoaib Malik selecting Hobart Hurricanes.........

    Ben Dunk is the only International player to select his home franchise over his IPL Team......

  • Dummy4 on August 24, 2014, 23:16 GMT

    Why Lahore lions not selected Abdul Razaaq, Sami Aslam and Zia ull haq?

  • Dummy4 on August 23, 2014, 16:23 GMT

    @Vineet Kumar on (August 22, 2014, 12:24 GMT):

    Indian Teams? That must be a joke! Even if you had said IPL teams from India, I could have swallowed that with a few pegs of rum & coke!

    Can you really call them Indian teams? With nearly 40 % of the team consisting of good players 'induced away' from their 'home teams', (to those players and crumbs to their 'mother clubs')? Though I am an Indian cricket fan, I am ashamed to call these "INDIAN teams. :-(

    I am also embarrassed to call it a "Champions League". I mentioned that in another post.

  • Dummy4 on August 23, 2014, 16:10 GMT

    Any one knows, who coined the term "Champions League" for this tournament? And, any logic why?

    Are they really champions? Or, just winners of tournaments among some club teams (moneyed ones, though) from different countries, that too with disproportionate representations, with India having an 'elephant's share'.

    With rules bent, to favour the teams with deeper pockets, what is the goal of this exercise? To determine, who can induce the players with more lucre? If so, can we call it cricket?

    I enjoy IPL, and also appreciate its rationale as a forum for young aspiring Indian cricketers (of course many seats reserved for overseas players) to display their talents. But, I don't understand the logic or purpose of this one? Can anyone clarify?

  • Dummy4 on August 23, 2014, 14:12 GMT

    Shoaib Malik Played in three teams around the world and all the three teams have qualified/won the final in their respective tournaments. 1. Hobart Hurricanes 2. Barbados Tridents & 3. Birmingham Bears and he chosen Hobart to play in CLT20

  • Dummy4 on August 23, 2014, 11:08 GMT

    Think they need to consider changing the rules. A player should play for the team in their country or origin.

  • No featured comments at the moment.