ICC Awards 2009

Dhoni leads Test Team of Year

Cricinfo staff

October 1, 2009

Text size: A | A

MS Dhoni gets a big stride in as he drives, New Zealand v India, 3rd Test, Wellington, 4th day, April 6, 2009
MS Dhoni captains the World Test team of the Year © Getty Images

Indian skipper MS Dhoni has been named as captain of the Test Team of the Year, as he was for the ODI team of the year. Twelve players from six countries were included in the line-up, chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd. South African fast bowler Dale Steyn was the only player making the cut from the 2008 Test Team of the Year.

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Indian captain Anil Kumble, ex-Pakistan allrounder Mudassar Nazar, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and ex-England wicketkeeper Bob Taylor.

World Test Team of the Year: Gautam Gambhir (India), Andrew Strauss (England), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka), Michael Clarke (Australia), MS Dhoni (India, capt & wk), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Stuart Broad (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Harbhajan Singh (India, 12th man)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days