ICC awards 2009 October 1, 2009

Dhoni leads World ODI Team of the Year

Cricinfo staff

MS Dhoni was named captain of the World ODI Team of the Year at the ICC Awards in Johannesburg. The team was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and just one player - Dhoni - appeared in the World ODI Team of the Year in 2008.

Chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: "It was a very difficult task in selecting this year's ODI team but looking at the line-up I feel it has great balance and depth. It would be a formidable team." Lloyd was joined on the panel by former India captain Anil Kumble, former Pakistan all-rounder Mudassar Nazar, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and ex-England wicketkeeper Bob Taylor

World ODI team of the year: Virender Sehwag (Ind), Chris Gayle (WI), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Yuvraj Singh (Ind), Martin Guptill (NZ), MS Dhoni (Ind, captain, WK), Andrew Flintoff (Eng), Nuwan Kulasekara (SL), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Umar Gul (Pak), 12th man: Thilan Thushara (SL)