ICC awards 2012 September 15, 2012

Levi takes ICC's T20 award for fastest ton

ESPNcricinfo staff

South Africa's Richard Levi took home the ICC's T20I Performance of the Year award for his innings of 117 not out off 51 balls against New Zealand, in Auckland in February. That effort broke Chris Gayle's record for the fastest century in international T20s - Levi got to the mark in 45 balls.

In that game Levi, playing only his second international match, also hit the most sixes in an international Twenty20 innings: 13.

"I don't remember much of the innings but I regularly get reminded of it," Levi said after collecting his award. "With T20 cricket it either comes off or it doesn't and for me it came off that day. I'm looking forward to playing Sri Lanka when the ICC World Twenty20 gets underway. It's very humbling to get [this award]."

It was the only award on the day for South Africa, with Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander missing out on a couple of top honours. Cricket South Africa congratulated Levi for his achievement. "It was a phenomenal performance and one that is going to be talked about for years to come," CSA acting CEO Jacques Faul said. "To win the award he had to beat off serious competition."

Levi's century was picked over Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan (nominated for his century against Australia last August) and Ajantha Mendis (for his six-for against Australia during the same series), and West Indies' Chris Gayle (for his unbeaten 85 against New Zealand in Florida) in the category.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • greig on September 16, 2012, 15:54 GMT

    This just proves these awards are a joke.. Sanga beats Amla and Vern to the test awards and Levi beats Mendis in T20.... Many would say that it should be the reverses. You can't have it all my Lankan Lions friends.

  • Ocean on September 16, 2012, 12:35 GMT

    There's a lot of contradicting comment here. People say Mendis should have gotten the award, but people 4get that Philander took 50 wickets in 9 tests & did not win. All the winners r batsmen. So please, he deserves it as much as Sanga which a lot of people say he doesn't deserve it.

  • Luke on September 16, 2012, 10:40 GMT

    Enjoy this moment Levi, because it'll be one of your last. You were eventually figured out in the IPL, and have been well and trly sussed at international level. At hamilton the boundaries were in about 50 metres in an already small ground. If Michael Atherton had have opened in that game he would have scored a ton.

  • pranshu on September 16, 2012, 4:19 GMT

    C'mon pathetic.. Mendis took 6 wickets in 24 balls against mighty aussies.

  • Philip on September 15, 2012, 21:07 GMT

    I rather suspect that the NZ bowlers from this award-winning performance (and I watched it on tv) would have preferred not to be reminded of how they went that day. I remember thinking at the time that they seem to have forgotten how to think on their feet. Truly bizarre, but that's T20 for you.

  • Dummy4 on September 15, 2012, 19:49 GMT

    Levi made his runs in Hamilton,not in Auckland.

  • Dummy4 on September 15, 2012, 19:01 GMT

    Saeed Ajmal was far better choice and he will prove it again and again

  • adnan on September 15, 2012, 16:32 GMT

    Is this award for only one performance or over all? I wonder how ICC judging cricketers and awarding players just on one day performance? What about those who are working hard for whole year? Levi performance after that match is just like nothing !!! any other match he played brilliant after that 117 of 51 balls?

  • Dummy4 on September 15, 2012, 16:26 GMT

    Ajantha Mendis deserve the award more than any one he took 6 wickets with good opposition, where levi century in new zealand (most probably in smaller ground ), 6 wickets in 10 overs it's self difficult he did on 4 overs

  • Dummy4 on September 15, 2012, 16:13 GMT

    Ajantha Mendis deserve this. he changed a game we were surely losing. SL scored about 150 and Australia were about 70 for no loss after 7 odd overs and Mendis took 6 wickets to turn the game on its head. That is the T20 performance of the year

  • No featured comments at the moment.