ICC World Cricket League Division Five March 5, 2014

A chance to climb cricket's lower rungs

ESPNcricinfo staff

The 2014 World Cricket League Division Five will take place in Malaysia between March 6 and March 13. Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, Malaysia, Nigeria and Tanzania are the six teams that will participate in the round-robin tournament that will be held in three grounds across Kuala Lumpur - the Kinrara Oval, the Royal Selangor Club and the Bayuemas Oval.

The tournament is a part of the ongoing World Cricket League, which will determine the Associate nations that qualify for the 2019 World Cup in England and Wales.

The two leading sides from this tournament will be promoted to the WCL Division Four, scheduled to take place in June in Singapore. The third and fourth-placed teams will remain in Division Five for the 2016 edition, while the bottom two teams will be relegated to the 2015 WCL Division Six.

Jersey were promoted to Division Five having won the 2013 WCL Division Six with a seven-wicket victory against Vanuatu in the final in St Martin. Tanzania and Malaysia were dropped into Division Five after finishing at the bottom of the table in the 2012 WCL Division Four.

Singapore won the last edition of this tournament in 2012, cruising to a nine-wicket victory in the final against Malaysia, which earned them progress to Division Four.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Rosh on March 11, 2014, 16:58 GMT

    Nice to see these countries play cricket..

  • Gavin on March 9, 2014, 9:45 GMT

    No Matthew the first tournament was the Div 8 comp in Samoa, September 2012. Making this the fourth of this cycle.

  • Dummy4 on March 7, 2014, 0:08 GMT

    Ongoing? Is this not the first tournament of the new cycle?

  • Vinay on March 5, 2014, 18:01 GMT

    world cricket league is one of the best promotion & relegation tournament to nurture various nations and bring them to international arena.

  • No featured comments at the moment.