Fans pinning the photos of ousted Indian cricketers on an effigy before buring them
Indranil Mukherjee / © AFP

A member of the student's wing of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) pins a picture of Indian cricket player Mohammad Azharuddin on an effigy, along with pictures of four other Indian players which was burnt during a demonstration in Bangalore 06 November 2000. Five Indian cricket players, Ajay Jadeja, Manoj Prabhakar, Ajay Sharma, Mohammad Azharuddin and Nayan Mongia have been banned from the game by India's cricket board after the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) named them along with other international cricket players in their match-fixing report.


SA v WI, 2nd Test, Port Elizabeth, 1st day
Australia v India, 3rd Test, Melbourne, 1st day
© Getty Images