The three captains pose ahead of the ill-fated 1912 Triangular Tournament. Frank Mitchell (South Africa, left), CB Fry (England, middle) and Syd Gregory (Australia, right) © The Cricketer International

  • 1912

    Syd Gregory © The Cricketer International

  • 1909

    A portrait of the Australian team that contested the 1909 Ashes in England © Getty Images

  • 1893

    The 1893 Australian team to England © Getty Images