Players / England / Robert Percival

Robert Percival      

Full name Robert Percival

Born March 1858, Sunderland

Died May 13, 1918, 43 Gordon St, South Shields, Co Durham (aged 60 years)

Playing role Bowler

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Left-arm slow-medium

Height 5 ft 10 in

Profile

Robert Percival did not appear in first-class cricket, but he made his mark on the game when on April 19, 1882, at Durham Racecourse, he threw a cricket ball 140 yards and two feet, establishing a world record that stood into the 21st century. While the accuracy of the measurement has been questioned, Percival's ability to throw long distances has not. He reportedly won more than 40 such tournaments, which were very popular in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, until he injured his left (throwing) arm in late 1884.

  • Read More
Latest Articles
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd Investec Test: England v Pakistan at Manchester - Jul 22-26
England 589/8d Pakistan 57/4 (24 ov)
Eng Lions v Pakistan A at Canterbury
Jul 24, 2016 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
Division 2: Essex Women v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
Jul 24, 2016 (09:30 GMT | 21:14 EDT -1d | 20:14 CDT -1d | 18:14 PDT -1d)
Division 1: Ire. Women v Yorkshire Women in England (venue TBA)
Jul 24, 2016 (09:30 GMT | 21:14 EDT -1d | 20:14 CDT -1d | 18:14 PDT -1d)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
Jul 24, 2016 (09:30 GMT | 21:14 EDT -1d | 20:14 CDT -1d | 18:14 PDT -1d)
South Group: Essex v Surrey at Chelmsford
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
South Group: Gloucs v Sussex at Cheltenham
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
North Group: Leics v Yorkshire at Leicester
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
South Group: Middlesex v Kent at Lord's
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
North Group: Northants v Durham at Northampton
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
North Group: Notts v Derbyshire at Market Warsop
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
South Group: Somerset v Glamorgan at Taunton
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
North Group: Warwickshire v Worcs at Birmingham
Jul 24, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 1: Ire. Women v Middlesex Women in England (venue TBA)
Jul 24, 2016 (12:30 GMT | 21:14 EDT -1d | 20:14 CDT -1d | 18:14 PDT -1d)
Division 2: Neth Women v Wales Women in England (venue TBA)
Jul 24, 2016 (12:30 GMT | 21:14 EDT -1d | 20:14 CDT -1d | 18:14 PDT -1d)
Division 3: Shrop Women v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
Jul 24, 2016 (12:30 GMT | 21:14 EDT -1d | 20:14 CDT -1d | 18:14 PDT -1d)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days