January 29, 2001

8th ODI, Carlton Series, Australia v West Indies, Statistical Highlights

  • It was the 1677th ODI in cricket history.

  • It was Australia's 471st and West Indies' 414th match.

  • It was the 96th match between these two sides. The record now reads: Australia 41, West Indies 52, tied two and abandoned one.

  • It was the 322nd match in World Series Cup.

  • Umpires Steve Davis and Simon Taufel officiated in their 22nd and 17th match respectively.

  • Michael Bevan played his 150th match. He became the eighth Australian after Steve Waugh (301), Allan Border (273), Mark Waugh (225), David Boon (181), Ian Healy (168), Dean Jones (164) and Shane Warne (154) and 52nd player overall to do so.

  • Mark Waugh played his 100th World Series Cup match. He became the third player after Allan Border (160) and Steve Waugh (126) to do so.

  • Lara got out without scoring for the tenth time in his career. It was also the fourth instance of a first ball duck for him. He had suffered this misfortune for the first time against Pakistan at Johannesburg on 13-02-1993, then against India at Port-of-Spain on 27-04-1997 and against South Africa at Johannesburg on 22-01-1999.

  • The duck was Lara's seventh in day-night matches. Now only Phil Simmons (8) is ahead of Lara for West Indies. Incidentally Australians Craig McDermott and Steve Waugh share the honour of recording most ducks in day-night matches with 11 ducks apiece.

  • Mr.Extras top scored for West Indies with number nine batsman Nixon McLean's unbeaten 24 being the second highest. This provided the second occasion of extras top scoring in a completed innings for West Indies. The other occasion was against Pakistan at Toronto on 19-09-1999 when extras of 37 top scored (with Sherwin Campbell's 32 being the highest with the bat).

  • Darren Lehmann and Damien Martyn opened the innings together for the second time for Australia. The previous occasion was in the Coca Cola Cup match against New Zealand at Sharjah on 21-04-1998. The pair had then added 39 runs for the first wicket.

  • The Lehmann-Martyn partnership was only the third unbroken century stand for first wicket against West Indies. The accompanying table has the details:
    Batsmen                     Runs  For  Vs  Venue            Date

    Stewart AJ& Trescothick ME 171* Eng WI Chester-le-Street 15-07-2000 Lehmann DS& Martyn DR 124* Aus WI Adelaide 26-01-2001 Ganguly SC& Tendulkar SR 116* Ind WI Port-of-Spain 27-04-1997

  • Australia won a match by ten wickets for the first time. It was also the 14th such instance in all ODIs.

  • West Indies, on the other hand, lost a match by ten wickets for the second time. The other occasion being versus England at Chester-le-Street on 15-07-2000. Though, India had beaten West Indies at Port-of-Spain on 27-04-1997 with all its wickets intact, its target was revised because of rain and bad weather, hence technically India's performance does not fall under ten wicket wins.

  • The victory was only the second by ten wickets in WSC matches. The only other instance had taken place about 20 years back when New Zealand defeated India at Melbourne on 10-01-1981.

  • By winning the match with 163 balls to spare, Australia recorded its seventh best victory in terms of balls. It was also the tenth instance of Australia winning a match by 150 balls or more. The break-up: twice against New Zealand and once each against Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and now West Indies.

  • It was the 27th instance of a side winning a match with 150 balls. Australia holds the lion share with 10 victories and is followed by India (5), West Indies (4), England (3), Pakistan (3), Kenya (1) and New Zealand (1).

  • The defeat was West Indies' worst ever in terms of balls. Sri Lanka had inflicted defeat by 132 balls in a Coca Cola Cup match at Sharjah on 17-10-1999. The following table lists West Indies' biggest defeats by balls.
    Balls  Winner Score  Loser  Score  Venue             Date

    163 Aus 124/0 WI 123/10 Adelaide 2000-01 132 SL 146/1 WI 145/10 Sharjah 1999-00 88 Eng 171/0 WI 169/8 Chester-le-Street 2000 81 NZ 172/2 WI 171/9 Wellington 1999-00 76 NZ 160/6 WI 159/10 Napier 1999-00 75 Ind 147/3 WI 145/10 Sharjah 1991-92 75 Ind 165/2 WI 163/10 Toronto 1999

  • Brett Lee won his second Man of the Match award. His only other award was achieved against New Zealand at Auckland in 1999-00.

  • Comments