June 14, 2002

Australian team selected for second match of TOWER Super Challenge II

Australian Cricket Board (ACB) Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland today announced that the National Selection Panel (NSP) has chosen the Australian team for the second match of TOWER Super Challenge II, to be played under the roof at Colonial Stadium on Saturday 15 June.

The team is:

Ricky Ponting (captain)TAS27139
Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain)WA30134
Michael BevanNSW31176
Andrew BichelQLD3128
Brett LeeNSW2538
Darren LehmannSA3276
Jimmy MaherQLD287
Damien MartynWA3095
Glenn McGrathNSW32154
Shane WarneVIC32179
Shane WatsonTAS205
Jason Gillespie (12th man)SA2736
Stephen BernardNSWTeam Manager
John BuchananQLDCoach
Errol AlcottNSWPhysiotherapist
Jock CampbellNSWPhysical Performance Manager
Mike WalshVICAssistant Team Manager/Cricket Analyst

Opening batsman Matthew Hayden has returned to Queensland to be with his wife Kellie, who is expecting the couple's first child.

Pakistan has not confirmed its side and will announce it at the coin toss of tomorrow's game.

Tomorrow's day/night match begins at 1315, with the innings break scheduled for 1645.