November 23, 2002

West Indies stick with same XI for crunch encounter

With the seven-match series tied at 3-3, West Indies are playing an unchanged 11 for the last and deciding limited-overs international against India on Sunday.

West Indies won the first international by four wickets at Jamshedpur and followed up with a seven-wicket triumph at Nagpur in the second match.

India then captured the next two matches. They won the third match at Rajkot by 81 runs on the Duckworth-Lewis method after crowd trouble brought a premature end, and then won the only day/night fixture of the series at Ahmedabad by five wickets in the fourth match.

The two teams then shared the next two matches of the series, with West Indies winning by five wickets at Baroda and India bouncing back by taking the sixth and penultimate contest by three wickets.

West Indies are presently ranked sixth on the International Cricket Council's limited-overs championship table and a win will move them a little closer to overtaking fifth ranked India.

Squad: Carl Hooper (captain), Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ricardo Powell, Ridley Jacobs, Vasbert Drakes, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore.