New Zealand Women in India 2003-04 October 14, 2003

Three new players in NZ women's team for Indian tour

Three new caps have been named in the New Zealand women's team for their Test and one-day international tour of India next month. Maria Fahey, Natalee Scripps and Katey Martin are the new players.

Mike Shrimpton, the coach of the White Ferns as the world champion New Zealand women's team are known, said he was pleased that places were found in the team for the newcomers. "Scripps was the leading wicket-taker in last season's State League [New Zealand women's domestic competition]. She is an experienced bowler and a constant performer in domestic cricket who is deserving of an opportunity at the highest level.

"Fahey was a member of last year's NZC Academy and is a stylish left-hand top-order batsman who has worked hard on her game in recent months and is a very exciting player. Martin is a member of this year's Academy. She is a promising wicketkeeper who excelled at age-group level. The tour will provide Martin with the opportunity of developing her allround skills as she is also a talented batsman."

Anna Corbin returns to the team after she was forced to miss the World Series of Women's Cricket held in Christchurch last year due to a broken thumb. "Those missing selection will have an opportunity to be selected in the NZ A team to play warm-up matches against the White Ferns and Australia before next year's Rosebowl Series and a four-match series against Australia Youth at Lincoln University in early February," Shrimpton said.

The White Ferns will have four days preparation at the Cadence Academy in Puna on their arrival in India. The last time they played in India was in the 1997 Women's World Cup, however, the last time the team played a series in India was in 1985. The team drew the three-match Test series and the three-match ODI series.

"The players are excited about the opportunity to play a Test match. It will be the first Test Match played by a White Ferns team since the 1996 tour of England," said Shrimpton.

New Zealand's itinerary is:


Sunday 23 - Monday 24 v Warm-up Match at Mumbai

Thursday 27 - Sunday 30 v India Test Match at Hindustan Inks Ground, Vapi


Tuesday 2 v Warm-up Match at Mumbai

Thursday 4 v India 1st ODI at Cricket Club of India Ground, Mumbai

Sunday 7 v India 2nd ODI at Aurangabad Cricket Association Ground, Aurangabad

Wednesday 10 v India 3rd ODI at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Saturday 13 v India 4th ODI at Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad

Tuesday 16 v India 5th ODI at Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

The team is:

Maia Lewis (captain - Wellington), Haidee Tiffen (vice-captain - Canterbury), Nicola Browne (Northern Districts), Anna Corbin (Wellington), Maria Fahey (Canterbury), Amanda Green (Wellington), Michelle Lynch (Auckland), Sara McGlashan (Central Districts), Katey Martin (Otago), Aimee Mason (Central Districts), Louise Milliken (Northern Districts), Kate Pulford (Central Districts), Natalee Scripps (Auckland), Rebecca Steele (Canterbury).