August 27, 2004

ICC Event Technical Committee approves replacement players for ICC Champions Trophy 2004

The Event Technical Committee for the ICC Champions Trophy 2004 has approved requests from four countries for the replacement of players in their 14 man squads for the tournament.

Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar's injured thumb has ruled him out of contention on medical grounds and he will be replaced by left handed batsman Faisal Hossain.

The Kenya Cricket Association's request to replace Maurice Odumbe with Brijal Patel on `exceptional grounds' was approved by the Committee, as was Sri Lanka Cricket's request to replace Muttiah Muralitharan with Kaushal Lokuarachchi on medical grounds - the spinner is recovering from recent shoulder surgery.

The fourth replacement is for injured West Indies fast bowler Jermaine Lawson, whose place in the ICC Champions Trophy squad has been taken by Darren Sammy.

Grounds for countries seeking player replacements are classified as either medical - injury or illness - or exceptional, as in the case of Maurice Odumbe, who has been banned by the KCA from all cricket for five years. Once a player has been replaced in a squad he can take no further part in the tournament.

The Event Technical Committee for the ICC Champions Trophy 2004 comprises of:

  • David Richardson, ICC General Manager-Cricket (or his nominee), as Chairman
  • David Clarke, ECB Host Tournament Director
  • Campbell Jamieson, IDI Commercial Manager, IDI representative
  • John Carr, ECB Director of Cricket, ECB representative
  • Sunil Gavaskar, independent IDI nominee
  • Michael Holding, independent IDI nominee