November 30, 1999

Turner Heads new-look Bulls side

South Brisbane allrounder Dale Turner was today named to make his Mercantile Mutual Cup debut as part of a new-look XXXX Queensland Bulls team for Saturday's clash with the Canberra Comets at Manuka Oval.

A decision by turner, 25, to move from Sydney during the off-season to pursue his cricket career enjoyed its first down payment with notification today of his selection.

"I'm stoked to be named, absolutely ecstatic." He said. "I've been pleased with how I've been going in grade cricket for Souths but this is great news."

A NSW Second XI player last season who claimed 38 wickets for Penrith in last season's Sydney First Grade competition, Turner is a member of the Queensland Academy of Sport squad.

An off-spinner who scored his maiden Brisbane first grade century last week batting at number seven Turner is regarded as an excellent fielder. His reputation gained him the nod to fill 13th man duties during the First Test when 12th man Colin Miller was injured during practice.

The return of Michael Kasprowicz from Test duties has squeezed out Scott Muller while regular One Day players Martin Love and Brendan Creevey have been overlooked, as has left-arm spinner Matthew Anderson.

Queensland Chairman of Selectors Rod Rice said the panel had been seeking to improve the One Day team in a few areas and arriving at the right balance in the team had resulted in changes.

"We have overlooked some quality players this time around but they are certainly not out of the running for future teams," he said

"We looked at the fact that we had lost our last four Mercantile Mutual Cup games, two at the end of last season, and believed we could improve the One Day team," he said

The Bulls will train tomorrow from 3.30pm at Queensland Cricket Headquarters at Albion and depart early on Thursday morning for Canberra.

The Comets boast former NSW and Australian One Day pace bowler Anthony Stuart and ex-Tasmanian allrounder Rod Tucker in their ranks as well as Prime Minister's XI selection Graham Cunningham.

XXXX Queensland Bulls v Canberra Comets, Saturday, Manuka Oval, ACT: Stuart Law (c), Matthew Hayden, Jimmy Maher, Andrew Symonds, Geoff Foley, Clinton Perren, Scott Prestwidge, Wade Seccombe, Dale Turner, Andy Bichel, Michael Kasprowicz, Adam Dale.