October 11, 1999

Bangladesh, Kenya admitted to next ICC knockout

Zahid Newaz

Dhaka: ODI debutantes Bangladesh and Kenya will take part along with nine test playing nations in the second ICC knockout tournament in Nairobi October 3-15, 2000.

International Cricket Council (ICC) executive board, which met in Dubai October 8-10 last, approved the inclusion of the two countries who don't have Test status.

Bangladesh and Kenya were not allowed to play in the first International knockout tournament last year in Dhaka. It was an exclusive affair of the nine test playing countries.

The expanded format of the 2nd ICC knockout tournament was disclosed by Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president and Deputy Minister for LGRD and Co-operatives Saber Hossain Chowdhury at a press conference in Dhaka Tuesday.

Saber attended the Dubai meeting.

He said Bangladesh and Kenya are most likely to play in the next World Cup Cricket without going through the qualifying round of ICC championship as the ICC executive board will consider increasing the number of teams in the 2003 World Cup from 12 to 14.

A decision in this regard will be taken in the next meeting of the ICC executive board to be held in February next year, the BCB president said.

The next World Cup Cricket will be held in South Africa from early February to mid March in 2001.

A second inspection of the Bangladesh's cricketing facilities will be undertaken by the ICC in January or February next year to review of the country's application for the Test status.

Saber Chowdhury informed that the inspection would cover only the physical facilities.

He said the ICC executive board has shown "positive attitude" towards Bangladesh team's performance against West Indies in the recently concluded matches in Dhaka.

Meanwhile, the BCB president informed that Bangladesh has been placed in group-B along with New Zealand, India and Holland in the Second Under-19 World Cup Cricket to be staged in Sri Lanka from 11-28th January.

Sixteen teams - nine full ICC members (test playing countries) and seven associate members - will take part in the competition.

Of the seven associate members, Ireland and Holland have qualified from Europe, Bangladesh and Nepal from Asia, Namibia and Kenya from Africa and a combined team from Argentina, Bermuda, Canada and USA representing the Americas.

Bangladesh will play their first match against India on Jan. 12, second match against New Zealand on Jan. 14 and last group match against Holland on Jan. 16.

Group A: England, Zimbabwe, West Indies and America. Group B: Bangladesh, India, New Zealand and Holland. Group C: South Africa, Pakistan, Nepal and Kenya. Group D: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Namibia and Australia.

The red ball and traditional white jersey will be used in the under-19 tournament.

Replying to a question, the BCB president said there is no doubt that the next Asia Cup cricket will be held in Dhaka.