March 23, 2000

1st Match,India v South Africa,Coca-Cola Cup,Statistical Highlights

  • It was the 1577th ODI in cricket history.

  • It was the 154th match on this ground. Incidentally Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium holds the distinction of hosting maximum ODIs. Sydney and Melbourne (104 apiece) are jointly placed at second position.

  • India was playing its 64th match on this ground. India has now won 32 and lost 32.

  • South Africa was playing his sixth match on this ground. It has won all the six.

  • It was the fourth meeting between these two sides at Sharjah. South Africa has won all the four.

  • India was participating for the 15th time in a tournament at Sharjah. Now only Pakistan (20) has played in more ODI tournaments.

  • Former England batsman John Hampshire was officiating in his ninth match. He last stood as umpire in England-South Africa match at Leeds on 25-05-1998. The other umpire Daryl Harper, from Australia, was officiating in his 29th match.

  • Ajit Agarkar was playing his 50th match. He became 28th Indian and 217th player to do so.

  • India's total (164) is its lowest at Sharjah against a team other than Pakistan. The previous lowest was 169 against West Indies at 13-10-1989.

  • India's total is its second lowest against South Africa after 147 in 49.4 overs at Port Elizabeth on 09-12-1992.

  • The 62 runs partnership between Ajay Jadeja and Javagal Srinath is a new record for India for tenth wicket against all countries. This obliterated the previous record stand of 53 between Ravi Shastri and Narendra Hirwani against West Indies at Gwalior on 22-01-1988.

  • The partnership was the sixth highest for tenth wicket in all one-dayers. The details:

    106*   WI  v  Eng  Manchester   31-05-1984  IVA Richards/MA Holding
    72    Pak v  SA   Durban       03-04-1998  Abdur Razzaq/Waqar Younis
    71    WI  v  Ind  Manchester   09-06-1983  AME Roberts/J Garner
    65    NZ  v  SL   Derby        18-06-1983  MC Snedden/EJ Chatfield
    64*   WI  v  Pak  Birmingham   11-06-1975  DL Murray/AME Roberts
    62    Ind v  SA   Sharjah      22-03-2000  A Jadeja/J Srinath
    53    Ind v  WI   Gwalior      22-01-1988  RJ Shastri/ND Hirwani
    51    SA  v  SL   Colombo RPS  04-09-1993  RP Snell/PS deVilliers
    51    SL  v  Zim  Bulawayo QSC 12-12-1999  RP Arnold/KSC DeSilva

  • The partnership is also the highest for tenth wicket on this ground. The previous highest was 46 run-stand between OD Gibson and HAG Anthony for West Indies against Sri Lanka on 20-10-1995.

  • Javagal Srinath's 30 is the highest innings by an Indian in all one-dayers at batting position 11. This obliterates the previous highest of 19 by Venkatesh Prasad against Pakistan at Toronto on 23-09-1996.

  • Srinath's innings is also the fourth joint highest by any batsman at this batting position.The details:

    Score Batsman Countries Venue Date 37 J.Garner WI v IND Manchester 09-06-1983 34* C.Pringle NZ v WI Guwahati 01-11-1994 33 Waqar Younis PAK v SA Durban 03-04-1998 30 A.R.C.Fraser ENG v WI Port of Spain 08-04-1998 30 J.Srinath Ind v SA Sharjah 22-03-2000

  • The unbroken partnership of 168 runs between Gary Kirsten and Herschelle Gibbs is the highest by any side for opening wicket at this venue. This obliterated the previous record stand of 165 between Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes for West Indies on 21-10-1988. The all-time record for first wicket at this venue, however, still remains as 204 between Saeed Anwar and Rameez Raja for Pakistan against Sri Lanka on 04-02-1993.

  • South Africa, by winning this match by 10 wickets, presented the 13th such instance in ODI history. The details:

    India (120-0)        beat East Africa   (120)      Leeds         11-06-1975
    New Zealand  (113-0) beat India         (112-9)    Melbourne     10-01-1981
    West Indies (172-0)  beat Zimbabwe      (171)      Birmingham    20-06-1983
    India (97-0)         beat Sri Lanka     (96)       Sharjah       08-04-1984
    West Indies(117-0)   beat New Zealand   (116)      Port of Spain 17-04-1985
    Pakistan (66-0)      beat New Zealand   (64)       Sharjah       15-04-1986
    West Indies(192-0)   beat New Zealand   (191-9)    Christchurch  28-03-1987
    West Indies (221-0)  beat Pakistan      (220-2)    Melbourne     23-02-1992
    West Indies(154-0)   beat South Africa  (152)      Port of Spain 11-04-1992
    India (116-0)        beat West Indies   (121)      Port of Spain 27-04-1997 +
    West Indies (200-0)  beat India         (199-7)    Bridgetown    03-05-1997
    India (197-0)        beat Zimbabwe      (196-9)    Sharjah       13-11-1998
    South Africa (168-0) beat India         (164)      Sharjah       22-03-2000

    + target reduced

  • It was South Africa's biggest win in ODIs.It has won by nine wickets on three occasions - v Australia at Sydney on 26-02-1992, v Pakistan at CapeTown on 23-04-1998 and v Zimbabwe at Nairobi (Gymkhana) on 28-09-1999.

  • South Africa won this match with 124 balls to spare. It is South Africa's fourth largest win in terms of balls .The details:

    Balls 141 v Sri Lanka Bloemfontein 19-04-1998 134 v Pakistan CapeTown 23-04-1998 130 v Australia Perth 18-01-1998 124 v India Sharjah 22-03-2000

  • At the other end of the scale,the defeat was India's fourth largest in terms of balls.The details :

    Balls 174 v Australia Sydney 08-01-1981 142 v Pakistan Lahore 02-10-1997 139 v Pakistan Sialkot 13-10-1978 139 v Australia Sydney 14-01-2000 124 v South Africa Sharjah 22-03-2000

  • Steven Elworthy was winning his maiden MoM award in his 32nd match.