Australian stars join Northern Territory's best to take on West Indies

Australian Cricket Board

November 3, 2000

Text size: A | A

Australian batting dynamo Ricky Ponting will lead Damien Fleming, Darren Berry, Michael Di Venuto, Brad Hodge, Daniel Marsh and six of the Northern Territory's finest cricketers into battle against the West Indies in an Ansett Australia one-day tour match on 14 November in Alice Springs.

The Northern Territory Cricket Association (NTCA) Invitational XI takes on a talented West Indian outfit that will be selected closer to match day. The West Indians should be faced with a challenge, with the NTCA Invitational XI keen to avenge its loss to the tourists in 1996-97.

The six Northern Territory representatives in the side are left-hand opening batsman Shaun Williams, former Australian under-19 all-rounder Ken Vowles, right-arm quicks Brett Wilson and Daniel Senior, middle-order batsman Stuart Johnstone and hard-hitting all-rounder Jarrod Wapper. Wapper is the only player from Alice Springs, the other Northern Territory players coming from Darwin.

The fixture is a rare event for Alice Springs cricket. The city has hosted only a handful of tour matches, those being against Sri Lanka, Pakistan, England A and the 1996-97 West Indies match.

The match begins at 10.30am Central Standard Time (12 midday Eastern Daylight Savings Time) at Traeger Park, Alice Springs.

NTCA Invitational XI

  • Ricky Ponting (Tasmania), captain
  • Darren Berry (Victoria)
  • Michael Di Venuto (Tasmania)
  • Damien Fleming (Victoria)
  • Brad Hodge (Victoria)
  • Stuart Johnstone (Northern Territory)
  • Daniel Marsh (Tasmania)
  • Daniel Senior (Northern Territory)
  • Ken Vowles (Northern Territory)
  • Jarrod Wapper (Northern Territory)
  • Shaun Williams (Northern Territory)
  • Brett Wilson (Northern Territory)

ACB umpire Steve Davis and Darwin's Stuart Davis will officiate in the match.

RSS Feeds: Australian Cricket Board

© 2000 Australian Cricket Board

Email Feedback Print
Australian Cricket BoardClose
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: West Indies tour of Australia
Grounds: Traeger Park
Tour Results
Australia v West Indies at Melbourne - Feb 9, 2001
Australia won by 39 runs
Australia v West Indies at Sydney - Feb 7, 2001
Australia won by 134 runs
West Indies v Zimbabwe at Perth - Feb 2, 2001
West Indies won by 44 runs
Australia v West Indies at Adelaide - Jan 26, 2001
Australia won by 10 wickets (with 163 balls remaining)
West Indies v Zimbabwe at Adelaide - Jan 25, 2001
West Indies won by 77 runs (D/L method)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days