England Domestic Season, 1795 / Scorecard

Earl of Winchilsea's XI 1st innings R
J Hammond b Wells 52
J Small jnr b Harris 0
R Robinson c Ray 13
T Walker b Beldham 12
J Ring b Harris 15
J Tufton c Beldham 13
F Reynolds b Harris 3
R Purchase c Tufton 7
J Small snr b Beldham 6
T Boxall not out 3
T Taylor run out 1
Extras 0
Total (all out) 125
Fall of wickets Unknown
Bowling W
D Harris 3
J Wells 1
W Beldham 2
R Leigh's XI 1st innings R
J Wells b Walker 25
A Freemantle c J Small snr 4
J Walker c Tufton 13
H Walker b Hammond 7
W Beldham b Purchase 56
J Crawte b Boxall 11
T Ray not out 32
G Louch b Boxall 7
HJ Tufton b Boxall 0
W Bullen b Walker 4
D Harris b Walker 0
Extras (b 3) 3
Total (all out) 162
Fall of wickets Unknown
Bowling W
T Boxall 3
R Purchase 1
T Walker 3
J Hammond 1
Earl of Winchilsea's XI 2nd innings R
J Hammond b Harris 7
J Small jnr b Wells 4
R Robinson run out 0
T Walker run out 10
J Ring not out 58
J Tufton b Harris 4
F Reynolds run out 0
R Purchase c H Walker 5
J Small snr b Harris 7
T Boxall run out 0
T Taylor run out 14
Extras (b 5) 5
Total (all out) 114
Fall of wickets Unknown
Bowling W
D Harris 3
J Wells 1
R Leigh's XI 2nd innings (target: 78 runs) R
J Wells b Boxall 10
A Freemantle st †Hammond 7
J Walker c †Hammond 3
H Walker b Boxall 20
W Beldham c †Hammond 18
J Crawte b Boxall 0
T Ray not out 11
G Louch not out 8
HJ Tufton c Taylor 0
Extras (b 1) 1
Total (7 wickets) 78
Did not bat W Bullen, D Harris
Fall of wickets Unknown
Bowling W
T Boxall 3
Match details
Balls per over 4
Toss Unknown
First-class debut F Reynolds (Earl of Winchilsea's XI)
Umpires Unknown
Close of play
Thu, 23 Jul - day 1 - unknown
Fri, 24 Jul - day 2 - unknown
Sat, 25 Jul - day 3 - unknown
Sun, 26 Jul - rest day
Mon, 27 Jul - rest day
Tue, 28 Jul - rest day
Wed, 29 Jul - rest day
Thu, 30 Jul - rest day
Fri, 31 Jul - rest day
Sat, 1 Aug - rest day
Sun, 2 Aug - rest day
Mon, 3 Aug - rest day
Tue, 4 Aug - rest day
Wed, 5 Aug - rest day
Thu, 6 Aug - rest day
Fri, 7 Aug - rest day
Sat, 8 Aug - rest day
Sun, 9 Aug - rest day
Mon, 10 Aug - rest day
Tue, 11 Aug - rest day
Wed, 12 Aug - rest day
Thu, 13 Aug - rest day
Fri, 14 Aug - rest day
Sat, 15 Aug - rest day
Sun, 16 Aug - rest day
Mon, 17 Aug - rest day
Tue, 18 Aug - rest day
Wed, 19 Aug - rest day
Thu, 20 Aug - rest day
Fri, 21 Aug - rest day
Sat, 22 Aug - rest day
Sun, 23 Aug - rest day
Mon, 24 Aug - rest day
Tue, 25 Aug - rest day
Wed, 26 Aug - rest day
Thu, 27 Aug - rest day
Fri, 28 Aug - rest day
Sat, 29 Aug - rest day
Sun, 30 Aug - rest day
Mon, 31 Aug - rest day
Tue, 1 Sep - rest day
Wed, 2 Sep - rest day
Thu, 3 Sep - rest day
Fri, 4 Sep - rest day
Sat, 5 Sep - rest day
Sun, 6 Sep - rest day
Mon, 7 Sep - rest day
Tue, 8 Sep - rest day
Wed, 9 Sep - rest day
Thu, 10 Sep - rest day
Fri, 11 Sep - rest day
Sat, 12 Sep - rest day
Sun, 13 Sep - rest day
Mon, 14 Sep - rest day
Tue, 15 Sep - rest day
Wed, 16 Sep - rest day
Thu, 17 Sep - rest day
Fri, 18 Sep - rest day
Sat, 19 Sep - rest day
Sun, 20 Sep - rest day
Mon, 21 Sep - rest day
Tue, 22 Sep - rest day
Wed, 23 Sep - rest day
Thu, 24 Sep - rest day
Fri, 25 Sep - rest day
Sat, 26 Sep - rest day
Sun, 27 Sep - rest day
Mon, 28 Sep - rest day
Tue, 29 Sep - rest day
Wed, 30 Sep - rest day
Thu, 1 Oct - rest day
Fri, 2 Oct - rest day
Sat, 3 Oct - rest day
Sun, 4 Oct - rest day
Mon, 5 Oct - rest day
Tue, 6 Oct - rest day
Wed, 7 Oct - rest day
Thu, 8 Oct - rest day
Fri, 9 Oct - rest day
Sat, 10 Oct - rest day
Sun, 11 Oct - rest day
Mon, 12 Oct - rest day
Tue, 13 Oct - rest day
Wed, 14 Oct - rest day
Thu, 15 Oct - rest day
Fri, 16 Oct - rest day
Sat, 17 Oct - rest day
Sun, 18 Oct - rest day
Mon, 19 Oct - rest day
Tue, 20 Oct - rest day
Wed, 21 Oct - rest day
Thu, 22 Oct - rest day
Fri, 23 Oct - rest day
Sat, 24 Oct - rest day
Sun, 25 Oct - rest day
Mon, 26 Oct - rest day
Tue, 27 Oct - rest day
Wed, 28 Oct - rest day
Thu, 29 Oct - rest day
Fri, 30 Oct - rest day
Sat, 31 Oct - rest day
Sun, 1 Nov - rest day
Mon, 2 Nov - rest day
Tue, 3 Nov - rest day
Wed, 4 Nov - rest day
Thu, 5 Nov - rest day
Fri, 6 Nov - rest day
Sat, 7 Nov - rest day
Sun, 8 Nov - rest day
Mon, 9 Nov - rest day
Tue, 10 Nov - rest day
Wed, 11 Nov - rest day
Thu, 12 Nov - rest day
Fri, 13 Nov - rest day
Sat, 14 Nov - rest day
Sun, 15 Nov - rest day
Mon, 16 Nov - rest day
Tue, 17 Nov - rest day
Wed, 18 Nov - rest day
Thu, 19 Nov - rest day
Fri, 20 Nov - rest day
Sat, 21 Nov - rest day
Sun, 22 Nov - rest day
Mon, 23 Nov - rest day
Tue, 24 Nov - rest day
Wed, 25 Nov - rest day
Thu, 26 Nov - rest day
Fri, 27 Nov - rest day
Sat, 28 Nov - rest day
Sun, 29 Nov - rest day
Mon, 30 Nov - rest day
Tue, 1 Dec - rest day
Wed, 2 Dec - rest day
Thu, 3 Dec - rest day
Fri, 4 Dec - rest day
Sat, 5 Dec - rest day
Sun, 6 Dec - rest day
Mon, 7 Dec - rest day
Tue, 8 Dec - rest day
Wed, 9 Dec - rest day
Thu, 10 Dec - rest day
Fri, 11 Dec - rest day
Sat, 12 Dec - rest day
Sun, 13 Dec - rest day
Mon, 14 Dec - rest day
Tue, 15 Dec - rest day
Wed, 16 Dec - rest day
Thu, 17 Dec - rest day
Fri, 18 Dec - rest day
Sat, 19 Dec - rest day
Sun, 20 Dec - rest day
Mon, 21 Dec - rest day
Tue, 22 Dec - rest day
Wed, 23 Dec - rest day
Thu, 24 Dec - rest day
Fri, 25 Dec - rest day
Sat, 26 Dec - rest day
Sun, 27 Dec - rest day
Mon, 28 Dec - rest day
Tue, 29 Dec - rest day
Wed, 30 Dec - rest day
Thu, 31 Dec - rest day
Fri, 1 Jan - rest day
Sat, 2 Jan - rest day
Sun, 3 Jan - rest day
Mon, 4 Jan - rest day
Tue, 5 Jan - rest day
Wed, 6 Jan - rest day
Thu, 7 Jan - rest day
Fri, 8 Jan - rest day
Sat, 9 Jan - rest day
Sun, 10 Jan - rest day
Mon, 11 Jan - rest day
Tue, 12 Jan - rest day
Wed, 13 Jan - rest day
Thu, 14 Jan - rest day
Fri, 15 Jan - rest day
Sat, 16 Jan - rest day
Sun, 17 Jan - rest day
Mon, 18 Jan - rest day
Tue, 19 Jan - rest day
Wed, 20 Jan - rest day
Thu, 21 Jan - rest day
Fri, 22 Jan - rest day
Sat, 23 Jan - rest day
Sun, 24 Jan - rest day
Mon, 25 Jan - rest day
Tue, 26 Jan - rest day
Wed, 27 Jan - rest day
Thu, 28 Jan - rest day
Fri, 29 Jan - rest day
Sat, 30 Jan - rest day
Sun, 31 Jan - rest day
Mon, 1 Feb - rest day
Tue, 2 Feb - rest day
Wed, 3 Feb - rest day
Thu, 4 Feb - rest day
Fri, 5 Feb - rest day
Sat, 6 Feb - rest day
Sun, 7 Feb - rest day
Mon, 8 Feb - rest day
Tue, 9 Feb - rest day
Wed, 10 Feb - rest day
Thu, 11 Feb - rest day
Fri, 12 Feb - rest day
Sat, 13 Feb - rest day
Sun, 14 Feb - rest day
Mon, 15 Feb - rest day
Tue, 16 Feb - rest day
Wed, 17 Feb - rest day
Thu, 18 Feb - rest day
Fri, 19 Feb - rest day
Sat, 20 Feb - rest day
Sun, 21 Feb - rest day
Mon, 22 Feb - rest day
Tue, 23 Feb - rest day
Wed, 24 Feb - rest day
Thu, 25 Feb - rest day
Fri, 26 Feb - rest day
Sat, 27 Feb - rest day
Sun, 28 Feb - rest day
Mon, 29 Feb - rest day
Tue, 1 Mar - rest day
Wed, 2 Mar - rest day
Thu, 3 Mar - rest day
Fri, 4 Mar - rest day
Sat, 5 Mar - rest day
Sun, 6 Mar - rest day
Mon, 7 Mar - rest day
Tue, 8 Mar - rest day
Wed, 9 Mar - rest day
Thu, 10 Mar - rest day
Fri, 11 Mar - rest day
Sat, 12 Mar - rest day
Sun, 13 Mar - rest day
Mon, 14 Mar - rest day
Tue, 15 Mar - rest day
Wed, 16 Mar - rest day
Thu, 17 Mar - rest day
Fri, 18 Mar - rest day
Sat, 19 Mar - rest day
Sun, 20 Mar - rest day
Mon, 21 Mar - rest day
Tue, 22 Mar - rest day
Wed, 23 Mar - rest day
Thu, 24 Mar - rest day
Fri, 25 Mar - rest day
Sat, 26 Mar - rest day
Sun, 27 Mar - rest day
Mon, 28 Mar - rest day
Tue, 29 Mar - rest day
Wed, 30 Mar - rest day
Thu, 31 Mar - rest day
Fri, 1 Apr - rest day
Sat, 2 Apr - rest day
Sun, 3 Apr - rest day
Mon, 4 Apr - rest day
Tue, 5 Apr - rest day
Wed, 6 Apr - rest day
Thu, 7 Apr - rest day
Fri, 8 Apr - rest day
Sat, 9 Apr - rest day
Sun, 10 Apr - rest day
Mon, 11 Apr - rest day
Tue, 12 Apr - rest day
Wed, 13 Apr - rest day
Thu, 14 Apr - rest day
Fri, 15 Apr - rest day
Sat, 16 Apr - rest day
Sun, 17 Apr - rest day
Mon, 18 Apr - rest day
Tue, 19 Apr - rest day
Wed, 20 Apr - rest day
Thu, 21 Apr - rest day
Fri, 22 Apr - rest day
Sat, 23 Apr - rest day
Sun, 24 Apr - rest day
Mon, 25 Apr - rest day
Tue, 26 Apr - rest day
Wed, 27 Apr - rest day
Thu, 28 Apr - rest day
Fri, 29 Apr - rest day
Sat, 30 Apr - rest day
Sun, 1 May - rest day
Mon, 2 May - rest day
Tue, 3 May - rest day
Wed, 4 May - rest day
Thu, 5 May - rest day
Fri, 6 May - rest day
Sat, 7 May - rest day
Sun, 8 May - rest day
Mon, 9 May - rest day
Tue, 10 May - rest day
Wed, 11 May - rest day
Thu, 12 May - rest day
Fri, 13 May - rest day
Sat, 14 May - rest day
Sun, 15 May - rest day
Mon, 16 May - rest day
Tue, 17 May - rest day
Wed, 18 May - rest day
Thu, 19 May - rest day
Fri, 20 May - rest day
Sat, 21 May - rest day
Sun, 22 May - rest day
Mon, 23 May - rest day
Tue, 24 May - rest day
Wed, 25 May - rest day
Thu, 26 May - rest day
Fri, 27 May - rest day
Sat, 28 May - rest day
Sun, 29 May - rest day
Mon, 30 May - rest day
Tue, 31 May - rest day
Wed, 1 Jun - rest day
Thu, 2 Jun - rest day
Fri, 3 Jun - rest day
Sat, 4 Jun - rest day
Sun, 5 Jun - rest day
Mon, 6 Jun - rest day
Tue, 7 Jun - rest day
Wed, 8 Jun - rest day
Thu, 9 Jun - rest day
Fri, 10 Jun - rest day
Sat, 11 Jun - rest day
Sun, 12 Jun - rest day
Mon, 13 Jun - rest day
Tue, 14 Jun - rest day
Wed, 15 Jun - rest day
Thu, 16 Jun - rest day
Fri, 17 Jun - rest day
Sat, 18 Jun - rest day
Sun, 19 Jun - rest day
Mon, 20 Jun - rest day
Tue, 21 Jun - rest day
Wed, 22 Jun - rest day
Thu, 23 Jun - rest day
Fri, 24 Jun - rest day
Sat, 25 Jun - rest day
Sun, 26 Jun - rest day
Mon, 27 Jun - rest day
Tue, 28 Jun - day 4 - R Leigh's XI 2nd innings 78/7 - end of match
Match notes
  • General
  • R Leigh's XI Captain not named
  • R Leigh's XI Wicket-keeper not named
  • Earl of Winchilsea's XI Captain not named
  • R Leigh's XI 1st innings: bowlers' runs conceded do not balance
  • Earl of Winchilsea's XI 1st innings: bowlers' runs conceded do not balance
  • R Leigh's XI 2nd innings: bowlers' runs conceded do not balance
  • Earl of Winchilsea's XI 2nd innings: bowlers' runs conceded do not balance
  • At close of play on 25 July (a Saturday), Leigh's XI, with seven wickets in hand, required an additional 36 runs to win. Normal practice at the time would have been to continue at the earliest opportunity, and it was announced that the game would resume on 17 August. In the event, this did not take place and it was not until eleven months later, on 28 June 1796, that the match was brought to a conclusion. In these unique circumstances the batting and bowling in Leigh (2) are presented so as to show the position both at the close of play on 25 July 1795 and at the conclusion of the match in 1796.
  • Frederick Reynolds, who was a well-known dramatist, made his first appearance in 'great' matches, apparently as a last-minute substitute for a player taken ill. In his memoirs, published 1827, he recalled the game. 'I, for the first and last time, played against the celebrated formidable, Harris. In taking my place at the wicket, I almost felt as if I was taking my ground in a duel, and my terrors were so much increased by the mock sympathy of Hammond, Beldham and others round the wicket that when this mighty bowler, this Jupiter tonans, hurled his bolt at me, I shut my eyes in the intensity of my panic, and mechnically gave a random desperate blow, which, to my utter astonishment, was followed by a loud cry all over the ring of "Run, run". I did run; and with all my force; and getting three notches.' This vivid account, the details of which are supported by the score, tells us that Hammond was still batting when Reynolds arrived at the crease; also, that 'sledging' is no new phenomenon.
 
Feedback Print this page
Tournament Results
Winchilsea v R Leigh's XI at Alresford - Jul 23, 1795 - Jun 28, 1796
R Leigh's XI won by 3 wickets
Mann's XI v R Leigh's XI at Margate - Sep 14-16, 1795
R Leigh's XI won by an innings and 98 runs
Mann's XI v Darnley's XI at Margate - Sep 10-12, 1795
Darnley's XI won by 242 runs
Mann's XI v R Leigh's XI at Margate - Sep 7-10, 1795
Mann's XI won by 37 runs
Kent XI v England at Maidstone - Aug 31-Sep 2, 1795
England won by 5 wickets
More results »