England news October 1, 2014

Lyth and Lees handed awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

Yorkshire's opening pair, Adam Lyth and Alex Lees, took the main awards at the annual Cricket Writers' Club event in London on Tuesday.

Lees, 21, claimed the Young Player of the Year title after scoring 971 runs in Yorkshire's Championship-winning campaign and he became the third White Rose player to take the award in the last four years following Jonny Bairstow in 2011 and Joe Root in 2012. Last year's winner was Ben Stokes.

Lyth became the third winner of the County Championship Player of the Year after Nick Compton and Wayne Madsen. He was the leading run-scorer in the Championship with 1489 at 67.68 including six hundreds as he and Lees formed a formidable combination at the top of the order.

Both players are part of the England performance programme squad that will shadow the main party for three weeks in Sri Lanka and they are also expected to tour South Africa in the New Year with England Lions. Lyth is also pushing very hard for a place on the tour of West Indies in April.

Also honoured at the event was David Lloyd, the former player, coach and now world-renowned commentator, who was given the Peter Smith award for an outstanding contribution to the promotion of cricket.