Duleep Trophy semi-finals, 3rd day

Dinda stars as East Zone take control

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 6, 2012

Text size: A | A

Robin Bist defends, South Zone v Central Zone, Duleep Trophy 2011-12 semi-final, 3rd day, February 6, 2012
Robin Bist continued his prolific run © Sivaraman Kitta

In a contest of fightbacks, East Zone edged ahead of North Zone in Delhi. East came back strongly on the third day and gained a slender but significant first-innings lead. North were well positioned at 162 for 3 at stumps on the second day, in response to East's 315, but Ashok Dinda tilted the scales with a career-best performance. He removed the overnight batsmen Mayank Sidhana and Paras Dogra, and dislodged the lower order to finish with 8 for 123 in 38 overs. From 211 for 4, North slipped to 287 all out, conceding a lead of 28 runs. East ensured the advantage didn't slip. Opener Manish Vardhan scored an unbeaten half-century and Anustup Majumdar was going strong with him in a stand of 75, as East reached 120 for 1 at the close, stretching their lead to 148.

Central Zone have batted South Zone out of the Duleep Trophy semi-final at Chepauk, virtually sealing their place in the tournament final. Central had stretched their lead to 237 at the end of the second day, and finished at 378 for 5 on the third - the lead extending further to 488. Naman Ojha, who was on 79 overnight, went on to score his eighth first-class century. Robin Bist, the highest run-getter in the Ranji Trophy, continued his prolific run, scoring another ton, and at a fair clip. He was unbeaten on 104 at stumps off 178 balls, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (59*) was supporting him in a 160-run stand for the sixth wicket.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Tournament Results
Central Zone v East Zone at Indore - Feb 12-14, 2012
East Zone won by an innings and 20 runs
Central Zone v South Zone at Chennai - Feb 4-7, 2012
Match drawn (Central Zone won on 1st innings)
East Zone v North Zone at Delhi - Feb 4-7, 2012
Match drawn (East Zone won on 1st innings)
East Zone v West Zone at Valsad - Jan 27-30, 2012
East Zone won by 5 wickets
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days