Henry Royston      

Full name Henry Royston

Born August 12, 1819, Harrow-on-the-Hill, Middlesex

Died September 30, 1873, St John's Wood, London (aged 54 years 49 days)

Major teams Berkshire, Marylebone Cricket Club, Middlesex, Players, South of England

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm slow (roundarm)

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 Ct St
First-class 68 121 19 1065 60 10.44 0 28 0
Bowling averages
Mat Runs Wkts BBI Ave 5w 10
First-class 68 673+ 110 8/44 12.01* 6 1
Career statistics
First-class debut Marylebone Cricket Club v Hampshire XI at Lord's, Jun 26-27, 1843 scorecard
Last First-class 1862
Profile

Henry Royston was a professional round-arm bowler and lower middle-order batsman who played the bulk of his career for the MCC in that capacity - 51 of his 68 matches were for them. In 1855 he was deemed good enough to be picked for Players against Gentlemen, largely on the strength of his taking 8 for 44 against Sussex. Either side of that he umpired in the same fixture, and he officiated in many major matches until the year before his premature death.
Martin Williamson

Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 04:29 EDT | 03:29 CDT | 01:29 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 04:29 EDT | 03:29 CDT | 01:29 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 04:29 EDT | 03:29 CDT | 01:29 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days