England v India 2011

Shane Watson's first match as Australia captain ended in victory, with Watson taking two wickets
Shane Watson's first match as Australia captain ended in victory, with Watson taking two wickets © Getty Images


    Sachin of Benalla

Christian Ryan: They say no one ever remembers how you leave cricket, that the memory of you at your peak is what's everlasting. Is that true?

    Tarantino or Bollywood?

Tour Diary: India may not have turned up for the series in Australia, but Indians are everywhere. By Sidharth Monga

    Goodbye, Laxman

Christian Ryan: For over a decade his best was saved for Australia, thrilling prime ministers and lesser folk - until this tour

    'The biggest thing in T20 is knowing your role'

Thinking on your feet, trusting your gut - Australia's new T20 captain George Bailey talks about the challenges of the format

    'Time for an exit plan for India's big three'

Time Out: Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar and Ayaz Memon discuss what must be done after the Australia debacle

    Video/Audio »   Magazine »    Page 2 »


Border-Gavaskar Trophy, 2011/12 (India in Australia Tests)

India in Australia T20I Series, 2011/12

Commonwealth Bank Series, 2011/12 (Australia, India, Sri Lanka in Australia ODIs)

India tour of Australia, Dec 2011 - Mar 2012

Test matches

One-Day Internationals

Twenty20 Internationals

Twenty20 matches

Ponting is still here to stay


MS Dhoni (c/wk) Virender Sehwag (vc)
Ravichandran Ashwin Rahul Dravid
Gautam Gambhir Zaheer Khan
Virat Kohli VVS Laxman
Abhimanyu Mithun Pragyan Ojha
Ajinkya Rahane Wriddhiman Saha (wk)
Ishant Sharma Rohit Sharma
Sachin Tendulkar Vinay Kumar
Umesh Yadav

Quote Unquote

MS Dhoni on the change the youngsters have brought to India's dressing room ahead of the limited-overs games in Australia


Do you have faith in the DRS as it stands now?
See results ยป

MS Dhoni pulls on one leg
© Getty Images
Gautam Gambhir lofts over extra cover
© Getty Images
Brad Hogg gives Virender Sehwag a send-off
© Getty Images
Virender Sehwag lofts down the ground
Aaron Finch top scored for Australia
© Getty Images
Matthew Wade made a solid 32


The contest that came to define the best elements of Test cricket in the 2000s. Australia easily dominated the first seven series between the two countries, with occasional landmarks like the Chennai tie in 1986. India began to compete on an equal footing with the turn of the century, beginning with the astonishing comeback after following-on in Kolkata, in 2001. That win stopped Australia's 16-match winning streak - a feat India would go on to repeat, in Perth in 2008. Since 2000, India have managed to win more Tests (9) against Australia than they have lost (6), despite their opponents being top of the class for most of the era. But it has not been all one-way traffic, with the Australians claiming the 'Final Frontier' in 2004, and winning a fractious home series in 2008.

Tour Results
India v Sri Lanka at Hobart - Feb 28, 2012
India won by 7 wickets (with 80 balls remaining)
Australia v India at Sydney - Feb 26, 2012
Australia won by 87 runs
India v Sri Lanka at Brisbane - Feb 21, 2012
Sri Lanka won by 51 runs
Australia v India at Brisbane - Feb 19, 2012
Australia won by 110 runs
India v Sri Lanka at Adelaide - Feb 14, 2012
Match tied
More results »