Northants v Indians, Northampton, 1st day August 5, 2011

Sehwag, Zaheer play in practice game

ESPNcricinfo staff

Toss Indians elected to bat against Northamptonshire

The Indians chose to test all their options before the Edgbaston Test, with Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan taking part in their two-day practice match against Northamptonshire. The format of the match was finalised just before the game; there will be a minimum of 90 overs on each day, and the team batting first, the Indians, will have a maximum of 100 overs to bat.

Of the touring party, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Praveen Kumar will not play in the practice match. Gautam Gambhir was marked as captain in the team sheet and MS Dhoni as wicketkeeper. Wriddhiman Saha is also in the 12-man team for what is an open-ended match. Amit Mishra also plays and will need to cement the spinner's slot before Pragyan Ojha arrives in time for the Edgbaston Test.

The Indians won the toss and lost both openers before lunch. Sehwag batted for just 30 minutes in the Indian innings, before he was adjudged lbw to fast bowler David Burton, who has not represented Northants in a first-class match since September 2010.

The two-day match is almost a sell-out, with the 5000-capacity ground close to full on the first day. Saturday, when Northants will bat, is a sell-out.

Indians: Gautam Gambhir (capt), Virender Sehwag, Abhinav Mukund, VVS Laxman, MS Dhoni (wk), Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma.

Northamptonshire: Mal Loye, Niall O'Brien, Rob White, Rob Newton, David Sales (capt), David Willey, David Murphy (wk), Paul Best, Dave Burton, Lee Daggett, Luke Evans.