South Africa in England 2012 August 21, 2012

Broad rested for one-day series

Stuart Broad has been rested from the one-day series against South Africa ahead of the World Twenty20 where he will be captain.

Broad, whose lack of pace during the Test series was highlighted although he finished as England's leading wicket-taker, will return to lead the team in the three-match Twenty20 series against South Africa before the squad departs for Sri Lanka.

He is the only notable absentee from the one-day squad - Kevin Pietersen's continued exclusion was not a surprise - which beat Australia 4-0 earlier in the season, a result which helped England to the top of the ODI rankings.

Chris Woakes, the Warwickshire allrounder who has been around numerous squads this season, will hope that Broad's absence will open the way for him.

Ravi Bopara is back in the England set-up after pulling out of the Test series against South Africa due to personal issues. He returned for Essex at the weekend, making 1 against Netherlands in the CB40, and an agreement has been reached for him to play for Gloucestershire against the South Africans in a 50-over match at Bristol on Wednesday to help him prepare for the series.

Geoff Miller, the national selector, said: "We are grateful to both Essex and Gloucestershire for agreeing to allow Ravi Bopara to play for Gloucestershire against South Africa on Wednesday. Ravi has had some time away from the game and we feel that he will benefit from some extra cricket ahead of the start of the NatWest Series and with no games for Essex before we begin our preparations for the first match this is an ideal opportunity for him.

"All players in the 14-man NatWest ODI Series squad were involved in the recent series victory against Australia. We will be looking for this side to build on the recent success we have had and to show further signs of improvement against a strong South Africa side."

Squad Alastair Cook (capt) James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes

Andrew McGlashan is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo