Arthur Whatman      

Full name Arthur Dunbar Whatman

Born February 13, 1873, Dorking, Surrey

Died May 28, 1965, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk (aged 92 years 104 days)

Major teams Lord Hawke's XI, RA Bennett's XI, RS Lucas' XI

Batting style Right-hand bat

Fielding position Wicketkeeper

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 26 35 7 394 67 14.07 0 2 21 9
Bowling averages
Mat Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 26 23 0 - - - - 0 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1896/97 - 1902/03
Profile

Arthur Whatman was a sound wicketkeeper for many years for Suffolk, but his first-class experience was limited to three overseas tours with representative sides - two to the Caribbean and one to New Zealand. He was embroiled in a major controversy on his final trip when he became involved in a dispute with Canterbury's Arthur Sims over a controversial decision.

Latest Articles
Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 05:23 EDT | 04:23 CDT | 02:23 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 05:23 EDT | 04:23 CDT | 02:23 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 05:23 EDT | 04:23 CDT | 02:23 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days