June 11, 2002

England Women's squad announced for ODI Series

England today named the 14-player ODI squad for the inaugural women's one-day international triangular tournament against India and New Zealand in Jersey and Durham this summer. England will also play two Test matches against India in August.

Charlotte Edwards (Kent) and Claire Taylor (Berkshire), England's most prolific batsmen in recent years, return to the squad following injuries. Edwards, England's leading run-scorer, has not represented her country since the World Cup in December 2000 following cruciate ligament damage to her knee.

Both players have returned to form as Captains in the ECB's Super Fours competition, the new domestic tournament for 48 elite players, which reaches its conclusion on Saturday 15th June at King's College, Taunton.

England coach, John Harmer said: "I am delighted that these players have worked hard and taken the opportunity to prove they are of international calibre at Super Fours. This is a strong squad, with experience and determination, and I'm looking forward to some competitive, exciting cricket this summer."

Gill McConway, ECB Director of Women's Cricket said: "The players have all benefited from Super Fours which, for the first time, is providing a bridge between domestic and international cricket. Many of the players in Super Fours are young with aspirations to represent their country, so it's a long term plan but, hopefully, we'll see some immediate benefit this summer."

England's Chairman of Selectors, Patsy Lovell said: "We welcomed back many talented cricketers either from injury or the university commitments which kept them at home this winter."

The triangular tournament will be a first for both English women's cricket and the island of Jersey, which has never staged international cricket and will play host to the opening game on Wednesday 10th July. The ODI final will take place at Chester-le-Street, Durham on Saturday 20th July 2002.

The 14 players are:

Player      England Caps   Date of birth
Clare Connor (Sussex) Captain               64                   01.09.1976
Sarah Collyer (Lancs)                       19                   03.10.1980
Charlotte Edwards (Kent)                    35                   17.12.1979
Mandie Godliman (Sussex)                     3                   05.04.1973
Laura Harper (Somerset)                     11                   21.01.1984
Kathryn Leng (Yorkshire)                    42                   10.09.1973
Laura Newton (Cheshire)                     21                   27.11.1977
Lucy Pearson (Staffs)                       41                   19.02.1972
Melissa Reynard (Yorks)                     44                   14.03.1972
Nicki Shaw (Notts)                          15                   30.12.1981
Laura Spragg (Yorks)                         2                   16.06.1982
Claire Taylor (Berks)                       26                   25.09.1975
Clare Taylor (Yorks)                        92                   22.05.1965
Arran Thompson (Lancs)                      17                   23.11.1981

Reserves: Caroline Atkins (Sussex), Jane Cassar (Notts), Dawn Holden (Notts), Hannah Lloyd (Somerset).

The itinerary for Women's international cricket this summer is as follows:

The ODI Triangular Tournament:
10th July England v India  Granville Ground, Jersey
11th July New Zealand v India Granville Ground, Jersey
12th July New Zealand v England Granville Ground, Jersey
16th July New Zealand v England Racecourse Ground, Durham
17th July New Zealand v India Racecourse Ground, Durham
19th July *India v England Chester-le-Street, Durham
20th July *FINAL   Chester-le-Street, Durham

* Matches televised by Sky Sports

TEST MATCHES: 8th-11th Aug 1st Test: England v India Shenley Cricket Ground 14th-17th Aug 2nd Test: England v India Taunton County Ground

The Frizzell Women's County Championships will take place on 27th-31st July at University Grounds, Cambridge.