England news

Best to captain in Under-19 Twenty20s

Cricinfo staff

August 1, 2010

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Paul Best will captain England Under-19 in their two Twenty20 engagements against Sri Lanka Under-19 on August 2 and 3. There are three new additions to England's squad for the games, with Alex Barrow, Adam Rossington and James Thorpe coming in and Michael Bates, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Adam Rouse, Atif Sheikh and Azeem Rafiq left out.

A left-arm spinner, Best captained England Under-19 on their tour of Bangladesh in 2009, and was also in charge of Warwickshire's second eleven that same year. Thorpe, a seam bowler, and Barrow, an opening batsman, are included in an Under-19 squad for the first time.

Rafiq was dropped for "inappropriate conduct" after the first Test - for which he was captain - while Bates is on wicketkeeping duty for Hampshire after Nic Pothas's injury. Bell-Drummond will captain England's Under-17 squad in their limited-overs match against Sri Lanka Under-19 on August 5 at Sleaford Cricket Club, Lincolnshire, ahead of the first ODI between England Under-19 and Sri Lanka Under-19 at Fenner's on August 7.

"This T20 series provides a great opportunity to showcase the young talent in this country against a very good Sri Lanka Under-19 team," said coach Adrian Birrell. "Good performances in these matches and the one day series that follows will provide a crucial platform for those players looking to further progress up the ladder in the national set up."

England Twenty20 squad: Paul Best (capt), Alex Barrow, Adam Ball, Jacob Ball, Matthew Dunn, Lewis Gregory, Ateeq Javid, Jack Manuel, David Payne, Adam Rossington, Joe Root, James Thorpe, Luke Wells

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Maestro_of_Cricket on (August 1, 2010, 18:40 GMT)

Good luck Sri Lanka. Keep up the good work from the Test series. Time for Bhanuka to change gears as Pajama Cricket starts. Rumesh Buddika would want to make a significant contribution after failing in the Tests. After all, he's the best batsman in the SL lineup as far as I'm concerned.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Middlesex v Indians at Lord's - Aug 22
Indians 184/5 (37/50 ov)
5th Youth ODI: England U19 v S Africa U19 at Derby
Aug 22, 2014 (14:00 local | 13:00 GMT | 09:00 EDT | 08:00 CDT | 06:00 PDT)
2nd ODI: Eng Women v India Women at Scarborough
Aug 23, 2014 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
1st Semi-Final: Surrey v Warwickshire at Birmingham
Aug 23, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
2nd Semi-Final: Hampshire v Lancashire at Birmingham
Aug 23, 2014 (14:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days